Trojans close out debut campaign with home win

Trojans players following the final meeting of a debut Craigavon District Darts League season.INLM14-160
Trojans players following the final meeting of a debut Craigavon District Darts League season.INLM14-160

DARTS TROJANS wrapped up the debut campaign in the Craigavon District Darts League with a 5-3 success at home to Premier.

The Bailie Amusements-sponsored event featured Tony Rutherford senior on song by 2-1 over Dee McCready, with five 100s and a 140 helping Trojans take an early lead.

John Cinnamond (140) recorded his eighth successive win with success over Andrew Fairbairn (140, 123), captain of Trojans.

Ritchie McConville (140, 100) pushed Trojans 2-1 up over Kevin McNeice (100) before Dee Blaney levelled by beating Rab Lewis with his fifth consecutive win.

Davy Caughan junior eased past Mo Campbell and a 140 helped Brian McCavigan push past Paul Lewis by 2-0 to place the sides at 3-3.

Steven Rutherford (2x140, 2x100) defeated Conor Mallon (140, 2x100) by 2-1 as, for the seventh successive game, the win went against the thrower.

However, Davy Vaughan senior altered the pattern of the night by securing victory for Trojans at the expense of Brendan Mallon.

Now Trojans’ focus will turn to the Barry Kerr Cup.

Stables Bar posted a third win of the season by beating Clann Eireann - with the throwers down by 5-3 for the sixth time this season.

Shane Tallon posted his 10th win of the campaign, Dee McConville came out on top and Michael Lamb made it 3-0 to Stables Bar. Mark Magee, Cathal Hendron and Chris Magee finished on the losing side.

Ciaran Magee helped Clann Eireann close the gap at the expense of Chris Lewsley before Neil McConville’s success pushed Stables Bar up by 4-1, with Joe McCabe on the losing side.

Clann Eireann’s spirited performance resulted in wins for Mick Hendron and Nathan McCabe over, respectively, Sammy Toman and Hugh Campbell.

However, Gareth Bunting’s victory against Kevin O’Loan confirmed success for Stables Bar.

Drumgor closed out the campaign unbeaten thanks to a 6-2 defeat of fourth-placed INF.

Stephen Duff (Drumgor) and Terry Morrow (INF) enjoyed walkover wins as the teams took part with six-strong sides.

Eamon Duff (140, 2x100) beat Lee Culbert (100) by 2-1 for Drumgor before Seamy Tallon levelled it against Paul Donnelly.

Drumgor went on to dominate across the final four fixtures by 2-0 - thanks to Joe Duff, Pearse Richardson, Clive Hanna and Shane Lennon.

Hanna posted a 14-dart finish across each leg on the way to a thrilling win over Paddy Magill.

The fixture list’s key meeting proved between Eire Og and Celtic - a meeting of second against third.

Dee Breen posted a 13th win from 14 appearances to edge out Eire Og’s Hugh Heaney by 2-1.

Dermy McStay posted a 20-dart leg over Martin Haddock before Noel Dunwoodie recorded a defeat of Celtic’s Dave McCusker across 16 darts.

Adrian Hutchinson (19 darts) defeated Mick Campbell by 2-0 before Dessie Dunbart’s 10th win of the season by the same scoreline pushed Celtic back on top.

Chris Cinnamond proved too strong for Sean Farren to level the tally before two strong legs by Sam Frazer helped him see off Anto Crewe to seal runner-up spot for Eire Og in the standings.

Mick Millar’s eighth win from nine performances included a 180 and 20-dart leg to also cut short Mark McLernon’s winning run at eight games.