Call for special honours reception

Carla Lockhart
Carla Lockhart

There’s been a call for a reception to recognise the achievements of the local people named in the New Year Honours List.

DUP Councillor Carla Lockhart has congratulated those listed and asked the Lord Mayor of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough council to host an appropriate reception for the people involved and their nominees.

Cllr Lockhart said, “I count a Queen’s honour as one of the highest accolades that a person can be awarded for their service to the community. This year I was overwhelmed to see so many local people from right across the Upper Bann area achieve such a reward.

“Within Lurgan I have known Mr Alan Little for a long time and was delighted that he was awarded for his many years of charitable work, his business acumen and his missionary endeavours worldwide.

“Alan is one of Lurgan’s true Christian gentlemen and I am delighted that he has been awarded for this work by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

“I wish Alan well as he continues with his work. He has impacted the lives of many and I know that this will go some way to marking that level of service.

“Mr Roy Harrison has also been someone who has given much particularly to the cricket fraternity in the Waringstown area.

“When cricket is mentioned there is an immediate association with Roy and his input over the years. It is a great reward to have been given and I know that Roy and his entire family will be immensely proud.

“I would also congratulate Mr Mullen for his service to Lough Neagh Rescue, Mr Allister who is an Executive Director, at the Highway Term Maintenance Association from Portadown, Mr George Johnston for community services in the Portadown area, Mrs McCadam for services to the Portadown Ladies Choir, Cllr Elizabeth Ingram for service to Local Council and our very own sporting hero from Banbridge Mr Carl Frampton on his sporting achievements.

“These individuals have never sought fame or recognition for there work and I would therefore commend those individuals who had the foresight to nominate them.”