Clans celebrate turning 90

A SPECIAL night of celebration has been arranged to mark the 90th anniversary of the Clan na Gael club in Lurgan.

The dinner and re-union night is in the Ashburn Hotel on Friday, October 26.

From its beginnings 90 years ago, following the demise of the Michael Davitt’s, the club has grown to be the strong institution that it is today.

The event is also the anniversary of some of the highlights of the club’s achievements and the night is being used as a re-union night for some of the club’s well known winning teams.

It will mark 40th anniversary of the first Ulster Club winning team from 1972 and included some legendary players such as Jimmy Smith, John Green and Colm McKinstry.

The Armagh Championship winning team from 1987 will celebrate its 25th Anniversary - a team which included players such as Barry McCabe, Paul Henderson and Dessie McCann among others.

Finally the minor team which won three Armagh Championships in a row will celebrate their 20th anniversary. This team included players such as Diarmaid Marsden, Barry O’Hagan and Kevin O’Hagan.

The celebration itself will include a number of events to mark the 90th anniversary including special guests, a display of memorabilia and presentation of this year’s football awards.

A special souvenir booklet for the event has been commissioned and will be on sale on the night.

The meal is at 8pm and will be followed by guests and memories, presentations, live music from the Kilkennys and dancing.

Tickets cost £25 and are available from the club, any committee member or Paul O’Hagan on 07793 769 332.