First meeting of committee to oversee transition

The first meeting of the Statutory Transition Committee (STC) - the committee charged with driving forward the merger of Armagh City & District, Banbridge District and Craigavon Borough Councils (ABC) took place in Craigavon recently.

The 15 elected members, five from each council area, will consider and advise on matters making sure that the new council is able to provide their new services and functions from April 1, 2015.

The STC will look at and rule on corporate and financial planning, including the preparation of a draft corporate and business plan for the new council. It will also appoint a new Chief Executive and Senior Management for ABC.

Chairman of the STC Councillor Jim Speers from Armagh City & District said, “We agreed the positions of both Chair and Vice Chairs and this will rotate on a four month basis. This is the biggest change we’ve had in local government in the last 40 years.

The STC is made up of the following Armagh Councillors Paul Berry IND, William Irwin DUP, Thomas O’Hanlon SDLP, Roy McCartney SF. From Banbridge, Joan Baird UUP, Carol Black UUP, John Hanna UUP, Junior McCrum DUP and Paul Rankin DUP. From Craigavon Councillor Alan Carson DUP, Alderman Arnold Hatch UUP, Vice Chair of the STC Councillor Carla Lockhart DUP, Councillor Paul Duffy SF and Gemma McKenna SF.

STC meetings are open to the members of the public. The next meeting is on September 26 in Armagh at 6pm.