New arts committee

THE Craigavon Arts Committee was formed in February 1967.

Representatives of various societies in Lurgan and Portadown met in Lurgan Technical College.

They included theatre clubs, Scottish dancers, a philatelic society, Lurgan Operatic Society, Lurgan Art Club and Portadown Philharmonic Society among others.

Mr Rex Black, who convened the meeting, explained that if all sides of the arts were to be catered for in the new city, they must blend to make a united approach to the Craigavon Development Commission.

Officers elected were: Chairman, Mr J.T. Storey; secretary, Mr Harry Storey, Lurgan Art Club; treasurer, Mrs A.F.M. Cansdale, Portadown and District Philatelic Society; visual arts convenor, Dr D.L. Hemmingway, Lurgan Art Club; drama convenors, Mr Jarlath McConville, Lurgan Operatic Society, and Mr Wolsey Gracey, Lurgan Theatre Club; music convenor, Mr Rex Blake.