Lurgan fall short against Cliftonville for second time

Derek Wilson scored 29 runs for Lurgan on Saturday.INLM36-118
Derek Wilson scored 29 runs for Lurgan on Saturday.INLM36-118

June’s meeting featured success by eight wickets as Cliftonville turned the tables on a 219 tally by Lurgan.

Last weekend’s date also resulted in a Cliftonville victory, with the visitors having elected to bowl following a delay to improve conditions.

Jack Harrison and Derek Wilson pushed the Lurgan score to 27 before Cliftonville took full advantage of the damp wicket across a four-wicket spell.

Lurgan were struggling on 46 for five wickets, with Harrison over on seven and Stephen Chambers posting 11. Niranjan Godbole put four on the board, with Callum Gibson and Peter Maxwell each unable to score.

Wilson was joined by Ahmed Baig and they produced a 38-run partnership on the sixth wicket to suggest hope of recovery.

However, the loss of Wilson - courtesy of a slick running catch - for 29 marked the start of Lurgan’s demise.

Neil Allen was bowled for five before the loss of big-hitting Baig on LBW for 34 as Lurgan hit the century mark overall.

The Lurgan innings finished in over 29 at 104.

Lurgan’s search for quick wickets opened with Gibson’s first delivery and Chambers proving solid behind the wicket.

The visitors struggled to score off the spin of Paul Stafford and Godbole.

Stafford claimed two wickets to put Lurgan in contention as Cliftonville hit 39 for three.

Godbole, the Lurgan captain, called on no fewer than eight bowlers but the breakthrough - off Andrew Bingham’s delivery - proved too late.

Cliftonville posted the decisive runs in over 39 to provide the visitors’ relegation battle with a boost.

Stafford finished with two wickets at the cost of 14 runs during his 10 overs with the ball.

Lurgan officials would like to thank Isabella and Alfie Kane for providing ball sponsorship.