Fabio nets treble as Glenavon reach semis

Declan O'Brien
Declan O'Brien

Glenavon eased into the semi-finals of the Mid Ulster Cup with a comfortable 7-s win over Tandragee Rovers at Mourneview Park on Tuesday night.

Declan O’Brien netted a hat-trick as the Premier League side dominated this cup tie from start to finish.

The strong Glenavon line-up did not have to wait long to open their account with Declan O’Brien winning a penalty after his shot hit an arm. He swept the spot kick past goalkeeper Richard McGivern on two minutes. A second penalty was awarded two minutes later when Mark Patton was felled in the box but this time Fabio fired over the bar.

Joel Cooper set up Glenavon’s second goal on 11 minutes when he broke into the box and pulled the ball back for Daniel Kearns to tap in for his first goal in his first start for the Lurgan Blues.

At this stage things looked bleak for the visitors but they hit back with a super strike by Aaron Gallacher on 12 minutes.

That goal failed to deter the home side with Kearns, Patton and Cooper all working hard to find a third goal but each time they were denied by McGivern.

Fabio then played a neat flick pass to Patton whose cross was met on the volley by Gary Hamilton but McGivern did well to make the save.

The second half was only a minute old when Fabio banged in his second of the night after a neat lay-off by Kearns.

The Tandragee legs began to tire as Glenavon began to totally dominate and after Fabio missed two chances for his hat-trick he did clinch it on 58 minutes and from the penalty spot after Cooper has been floored in the box.

Number six arrived on 77 minutes, Kearns the creator as he slipped pass to Hamilton who opted to give sub Conal Delaney the chance to score and he fired the ball home.

There was still time for the impressive Delaney to smash in number seven on 90 minutes.

Tandragee grabbed a late second goal on 83 minutes with Callagher drilling the ball home after the ball came back to him off the post.

Glenavon: McGrath, McKeown, Cooper, Patton, McGrory, Buckley, O’Brien, Hamilton, Kearns, J Lynch, Burns.

Subs: Marron, M Lynch, Drylie, Delaney, McKeena.