Late goal denies Under-12’s

Glenavon Under-12s 2

Coleraine Academy Under-12s 2

A LATE goal denied Glenavon Under-12s what would have been a crucial win in Saturday’s National League Premier Division clash at Brownstown Park in Portadown.

The Lurgan Blues, boosted by a double from recent signing Matty Swann, had looked set to overturn a half-time deficit until that late sucker punch.

Glenavon went into the game hoping to build on their derby victory over Portadown the previous week.

But against physically strong opponents their first half performance was lacklustre, Ryan Harbinson going closest with a shot over the top during the opening exchanges.

Coleraine then punished the locals for some slack play when Paul Flynn was adjudged to have upended a visiting forward when confronted one-on-one and the resulting penalty was converted.

The visitors held the lead until half-time, but immediately after the restart Matty Swann levelled matters for Glenavon with a brilliant long range strike into the top right corner.

Glenavon were a different team in the second half, their determination and improved teamwork putting the visitors on the back foot.

And midway through the half the Lurgan Blues took the lead, Conor Weir laying the ball off to Matty Swann whose shot from an acute angle on the left deceived the visiting keeper to bounce over the line.

Glenavon continued to enjoy the territorial advantage, although Coleraine always posed a threat on the break and with only two minutes remaining Paul Flynn was beaten by a powerful strike from the edge of the area, with Glenavon appealing for a free-kick for what looked to be a push in the build-up to the goal.

This was a disappointing end to the game for the local lads, who will realise that had they played from the start like they did in the second half the points would have been theirs for the taking.

Glenavon: Paul Flynn, Ryan Ferris, Daire Donnelly, Conor Molloy, Adam Clarke, Ordhan Connolly, Callum Ferris, Ruairi McDonald, James Mahaffy, Ryan Harbinson, Matty Swann, Conor Weir, Jake McLoughlin, Danny Magill, Josh McClune.