Harps in tune in the shoot-out to lift Memorial trophy

The Taghnevan Harps who won the Bap Shanks Memorial trophy.
The Taghnevan Harps who won the Bap Shanks Memorial trophy.

Taghnevan Harps won the Bap Shanks Memorial recently on penalties after a 2-2 draw against a Lurgan Summer League Select team in normal time.

The game was the first played at AFC Craigavon’s Lakeview Park ground after the previous two games were played at Cliftonville FC’s Solitude stadium.

The Lurgan Summer League Select team.

The Lurgan Summer League Select team.

Both sides went in at half time one goal piece with David McCorry scoring first for the Summer League Select side before Pol Smyth equalised for the Harps.

Peadar Murphy put Harps 2-1 up with a fine strike from outside the box in the second period before Darren Fox lobbed Andy Menary to make the game all square.

Referee Dan Reid blew the final whistle for the third year in a row to see the game decided on penalties. Level again after five kicks at two each it continued through sudden death before Neil Toman missed his kick and handed the cup back to the Harps with a 5-4 scoreline.

Taghnevan Harps would like to thank AFC Craigavon for hosting the match, Jason McConville for sponsoring the match ball and Daniel Reid for refereeing the game.

The club would also like to thanks Wee Paddys for sponsoring a meal for two, Skelton Travel for sponsoring Madness tickets and Maria McCartan for making the posters and doing the draw on the night.

Also for the Celtic Club for running the Ska Nite, all the players who played in the game and those who made donations.

A sum of £935 was raised throughout the day for PIPS Upper Bann.