SUPERCUPNI: Battling County Armagh share spoils with Ichifuna

editorial image

County Armagh closed out the Premier Section group schedule with a battling 3-3 draw against Japan’s Ichifuna.

The Orchard County boys had to recover from a 2-0 deficit before regrouping to level the tie.

The tourists grabbed a third goal but County Armagh hit back in the final five minutes.

“After a tough week the boys displayed real character to get back into the match,” said County Armagh coach Dean McCullough. “Lorcan Forde made it 2-1 with a fine solo goal, Pablo Andrade found the net from the left then, late on, Edi Tavares raced on to sidefoot home.”

COUNTY ARMAGH: Conor Larkin (Portadown), Conor Kerr (Armagh City), Shea Geraghty (Dungannon Swifts), Eoin Toal (Armagh City), Ross Larkin (Armagh City), Edi Tavares (Armagh City), Oisin Smyth (Dungannon Swifts), Ben Neill (Annagh United), Pablo Andrade (Linfield), Lorcan Forde (Warrenpoint Town), Nedas Maciulaitis (Portadown). SUBS (used): Jackson Holmes (Portadown), Zac Wilson (Portadown), Ryan Leeman (Loughgall), Craig Taylor (Annagh United).