SUPERCUPNI: Semi-final penalty pain for County Armagh

Lorcan Forde.
Lorcan Forde.

County Armagh suffered penalty pain in the Premier Vase semi-final as KV Mechelen wrapped up spot-kick success on a 5-4 tally.

A strong start by the Orchard County players failed to produce a reward - with Mechelen breaking the deadlock.

The in-form Lorcan Forde increased his tournament tally with a second-half equaliser.

Both sides continued to push forward but the final whistle arrived with a stalemate on the scoresheet.

Eoin Toal, Oisin Smyth, Forde and Craig Taylor converted from the spot but Mechelen finished in front.

“We started well and had a good bit of pressure towards the end,” said County Armagh coach Dean McCullough. “Neither side managed to create too many clearcut chances in normal time.”

COUNTY ARMAGH: Craig Robinson (Bangor), Conor Kerr (Armagh City), Craig Taylor (Annagh United), Eoin Toal (Armagh City), Ross Larkin (Armagh City), Edi Tavares (Armagh City), Jackson Holmes (Portadown), Zac Wilson (Portadown), Cathal McGinty (Cliftonville), Nedas Maciulaitis (Portadown), Lorcan Forde (Warrenpoint Town). SUBS (used): Pablo Andrade (Linfield), Owen McConville (Dungannon Swifts), Oisin Smyth (Dungannon Swifts), Ryan Leeman (Loughgall).