Barry is crowned as a new Lurgan Master

On Saturday 23rd July the annual Lurgan Masters competition was played at the club.

Friday, 29th July 2011, 3:06 pm

It has gained status over recent years and once again it was generously sponsored by J R McMahon Menswear, Church Place, Lurgan.

A marvellous sunny day was enjoyed by the packed entry sheet. The course was in good nick and as a consequence quite a number of golfers produced some captivating scores.

Indeed some twenty seven golfers managed under par returns on the day.

A wonderful net 65 provided Barry Campbell with the main prize in the competition. This twenty-one handicapper played solidly over the regulation eighteen holes.

A pleasing feature was that his score was in red figures for both of the nines. Over the round he can thank solid pars on holes one, two, seven, eight, eleven and thirteen.

Numerous net pars also abounded on his winning card. At the evening presentation Barry received his coveted green jacket from a delightful sponsor.

Runner-up in the competition was Martin McNeice with a well-crafted round of net 66. This eleven handicapper was just over his handicap on the front nine. Pars at holes three, four, six and eight formed the backbone of his scoring.

He played very confidently on the home ward nine to record two birdies and five pars on his card. Holes twelve and sixteen provided the birdies. With pars at holes ten, thirteen, fourteen, seventeen and eighteen he advanced into second spot.

Fairly new member James Farrell gathered the third net prize with his similar score of net 67. This nineteen handicapper was competitive enough on the opening nine with seven net pars on his card.

He finished his round strongly with a quartet of pars at holes ten, eleven, fifteen and eighteen to claim his award.

On the day Kenny Hanna obtained the fourth net prize by shooting another return of net 67. This fifteen handicapper had a modest front nine thanks to pars on holes one, three and eight.

He found a niche of form on the incoming nine. Birdies on holes twelve and seventeen were prime examples. A trio of pars at holes ten, eleven and fifteen provided the necessary back-up.

With a further score of net 67 Bobby Creaney gained the fifth net award. Playing off a twenty handicap Bobby was through nine in line with his handicap.

He ensured himself some reward by coming home in a tally of three under par. On the day pars at holes six, nine, ten, eleven, fifteen and seventeen were the highlights of his winning effort.

The last net prize was claimed by Sean McClean. This eighteen handicapper also sparkled with a net 67 and managed to be under his handicap on both of the nines.

Over the round pars at holes one, two, seven, nine, ten and thirteen were his marquee scores. Alas double bogeys on three holes deprived him of an even higher position.

Andrew Cummins captured the Student prize on offer during the day. This six handicapper won with yet another return of net 67.

On the opening nine he bagged seven pars to accompany bogeys on holes six and seven. He had a mixed bag of scores on the other nine ranging from birdies on holes ten and thirteen to a double bogey on the fourteenth. However a run of pars from the fifteenth through to the end saw him deliver the category award.

There were two gross prizes on offer. The principal one went to two handicapper Gareth Moore.

On the front nine he birdied the fourth but ran up a double bogey on the eighth. Pars were landed on the other seven holes. A birdie and bogey began his second nine. After that it was pars all the way home. His 71 gross earned him the main gross award.

A gross 72 earned Tom Douglas the other award. Tom was the essence of consistency with pars on the opening nine holes. He fell off the pace on the back nine through bogeys on holes eleven, thirteen and fourteen. He closed off his day with a birdie on the eighteenth and thus locked up the other gross award.

The other leading returns were scored by the following:

Net 67: Conal Patterson (15).

Net 68: Nigel Girvan (20), Ed Richardson (14), Paul Byrne (12), Mark O’Neill (12), Mark Plackitt (8).

Net 69: Jonathan Swift (14), Jim Kennedy (15), Brian Hanratty (7), Philip Forde (24), Brendan McConville (13), Terence Eagers (18), Sean McEvoy (26), Anthony Gallery (11), Ian Cousins (8), Darragh Mulholland (10), Mervyn Mawhinney (11), Garfield Bell (9).