Geraldine’s game clicks at the right time to lift Lady Captain’s Prize

The ladies at Lurgan endured four seasons in one as they competed in Lady Captain’s Day hosted by Fiona Cummins .

Thursday, 6th August 2015, 9:00 am

However, they didn’t allow the weather to dampen their spirits and Geraldine Hickland coped best with the conditions to come out the eventual winner with 42 points.

Geraldine has just missed out on the prizes over the last few weeks but had obviously honed her skills to peak at just the right time to lift the Captain’s prize.

Nuala Beatty is busy planning the ladies away day this week but didn’t let it interfere with her golf and held off a challenge from Christine Hagan to take the runners up spot with 40 points.

Pamela Morrow, Liz Denver, Lady Captain Fiona Cummins and Katrina Bradford.

The gross went to Niamh Ward with 37 gross points and by all accounts she played great golf and for a period of time the ladies course record was very much under threat.

Section one went to Christine Hagan with 40 points. Christine is on a great run of form and showed all her finesse on the 18th hole when she up and downed from the green side bunker to save par at the last to get her score over the line.

Section two went to Georgie Hogan, with 38 points, she has now completed her hat-trick of prizes in the last few weeks.

Section three went to Fiona Rowan with 36 points just beating Roslyn Millar on the better back nine. Fiona played steady golf and might have finished further up the prize list if it hadn’t been for two unfortunate dings.

The runners up in the three sections were Lynne Hanna, Eithne McAtavey and Roslyn Millar.

The highlight of Lynne’s round was a birdie three at 10. The 10th hole wasn’t just as kind to Eithne McAtavey but she had a good back nine which helped her to win her prize.

Roslyn Millar had been at the club from early morning as she had set up the prize table displaying all the prizes which were provided by Roslyn’s shop Bluebell. Roslyn didn’t let this early start, and hard work, impinge on her golf and she did well winning her prize.

The students prize went to Cara Murphy, who continues to play well and reduce her handicap, with a score of 37 points. Prizes for the two nines were secured by Eileen McCann and Lily Woods.

The committee prize was won by honorary secretary Clare McGourty and the Past Captains prize went to Bronagh McKavanagh.

Josie McAnarney has been doing well in the nine hole competitions and she kept her run going by winning the nine hole competition.

Closest to the Captain’s drive was Maeve McKavanagh and closest to the pin at the 12th was Christine Hagan.

Lady Captain thanked everyone involved in making the day a huge success. The ladies now look forward to Lady President’s Day on August 11, but the star of Saturday was no doubt Geraldine Hickland a very popular winner of Lady Captain’s Prize 2015.