Lurgan ladies hold their first meeting

The first meeting of the new ladies committee took place on Monday evening.

Sunday, 9th February 2014, 8:00 am

The new Lady Captain, Pam Graham, welcomed all committee members but in particular new members, Nuala Beatty, Elaine Bell, Joy Stevenson and May Baxter and her new office bearers Sheila Horner (Hon Treasurer), Diana McClelland (Lady President) and Fiona Cummins (Vice Captain).

Names for committee include Pam Graham, Fiona Cummins, Diana McClelland, Clare McGourty, Sheila Horner, Katrina Bradford, Nuala Beatty, Elaine Bell, May Baxter, Dorothy Woods, Fran McCann, Pat Carville, Priscilla Clayton and Anne Knox (Past Captain).

Bridge results: N/S -1, T Rae and S Pollock; 2, G Turkington and E O.Neill; 3, K Hill and N McAuley

E/W-1, B Welsh and B McKavanagh; 2, F Storey and R Campbell; 3, M Dolan and J Mackay.

First in this week’s sweep was Peter Cummins with an amazing gross score of 65, giving him 46 points off his 5 handicap. Peter’s round consisted of five birdies and no dropped shots; think it’s only a matter of time until his handicap is reduced when qualifying competitions resume.

Second place went to Stevie Cordner with 43pts, also managing to keep a ding and one pointers off his card.

A previous win reduced Paul Mooney’s score to 42 points to take third, finishing ahead of Raymond McCrory, Dominic Hatchell and Martin McKinstry who all managed a very credible 40 to take the last prizes.

Gary Clarke got back to winning ways again by snatching the gross prize with 37 gross, the highlight being a hole-in-one at the second hole.

It was good to see so many players back out on the course again after the recent spell of heavy rain.