Michael the winner at ‘Big Day Out’

LURGAN golfers were involved in the end of the Winter League ‘Big Day Out’ competition on Saturday.

The innovative ‘Fed-Ex’ shoot out was also decided on the day.

In this 12 holes competition the overall winner was Michael Lavery.

This 15 handicapper compiled a seven under par total of 31 points to snatch the honour. It was a close run thing as Michael only shaded the verdict on the last three holes.

Michael played exceedingly well over the round with ten pars on his card. Holes three and seven were the only holes where he did not make pars. He recorded 24 points on the last nine holes. However on the concluding three holes he scored eight points to just surge ahead of his closest challenger.

In a closely fought low section the main prize went to John McCaffrey. This eleven handicapper has been out of sorts in recent times but his tally of 30 points has put him back in the limelight.

John had a shaky start with a six at the first. After that lapse he responded with six pars and two birdies on the following eight holes. Holes four and five were the birdie holes. On the closing three holes of play he registered a birdie, par and a bogey. On the day he had done enough to claim the principal prize in this close section.

With a score of 29 points Marcel Shanks emerged as runner up. This seven handicap golfer required a better back nine to close the deal. he had 23 points after nine holes. A run of par, bogey, par earned him second spot.

Third place in the division went to Denis McInerney with his effort of 29 points. This eleven handicapper was also well in contention with eight pars on his card. He recorded a birdie on the fourth but fell foul of bogeys on holes two, six and seven. On the last nine holes he ended up one short of Marcel and thus settled for third place.

The fourth and final net prize went to 11 handicapper William McMillan with a four under par score of 28 points.

On the day the gross award went to one handicapper Francie Tallon. This consistent performer won with an effort of 25 gross points. Again a stronger back nine decided the issue in his favour from Gary Clarke.

In the middle section David Johnston was the shining light with a well-crafted effort of 31 points.

This 13 handicapper had a mixed bag of scores ranging from an eagle two at the fifth to bogeys on five other holes. The bogeys occurred on holes one, six, eight, eleven and eighteen. In hindsight a birdie at the seventh proved a catalyst. Davy had 24 points on the final nine holes but a brace of bogeys on the final two holes eased him out of the overall award.

Second spot went to Raymond McCann with a six under par return of 30 points. This seventeen handicapper had another rewarding card with just pars and bogeys.

Also with a similar haul of 30 points Wilson Collins took third place. Playing off a fifteen handicap Wilson had a variety of scores on his card from double bogeys on holes seven and eleven to vital birdies at holes two, six and ten. The rest of his score comprised four pars and three bogeys.

The last net prize in the category went to 16 handicapper Bobby Creaney with his effort of 28 points.

In the high section where the scoring was slightly lower John McComb took the chief net prize. This eighteen handicapper was the victor with a total of 29 points.

A strong surge on the last six holes did the trick. John was the essence of consistency with just pars or bogeys on his card. He had 20 points aboard through nine holes and added nine more on the closing three holes of play.

With another commendable total of 29 points Derek Johnston was runner-up in the grouping. This 19 handicapper had a similar scoring pattern to Johnny.

Andrew McKinless nabbed third place with his score of 28 points. This twenty five handicapper was best served by a quartet of pars at holes four, five, ten and eleven.

The final net prize went to Hugh McCloskey with a similar tally of 28 points. This nineteen handicapper hauled himself into contention with credible par figures on holes one, four, eight, nine and ten. A double bogey six at the third ultimately cost him a higher placing.

The novel ‘Fed-Ex’ style format went ahead and was completed on Saturday with the 45 aspirants from the three handicap sections.

The winner of this innovative format was David Johnston. This 13 handicapper held court with his glorious total of 31 points.

The two lesser prizes went to Johnny McComb and Denis McInerney respectively with their hard fought returns of 29 points.

The ‘Team of the Winter League’ was ‘Davy’s Dreamers’ captained by David Sutton.

The other winning team members were Paul Best, Tony Henderson, David Johnston, Dan Moore, Sean Mulvenna, Sean McClean, Kieran McCorry and Denis McInerney.