Campbell’s early form is pick of the Lurgan field

Ursula Dummigan produced a strong round at Lurgan.
Ursula Dummigan produced a strong round at Lurgan.

Nicky Campbell’s early appearance on the Lurgan course led to overall success in the weekend Diamond Jubilee event.

The deteriorating conditions took a toll, as reflected in a CSS of 34 points and reduced time spent out on the course by the field.

However, Campbell had something to celebrate at the close of the day thanks to 40 points off his nine handicap.

Birdies at the fifth and 12th holes proved the pick of his 75 round.

Ian Hamilton, playing off 17, dropped just six shots across the opening 13 holes but then lost seven over the final five.

Henry Jordan and Chris Quinn shared 38 points in the race for third - with the former, playing off 22, edging clear across the back nine.

Quinn proved impressive on the way to fourth off his 13 handicap.

Neale McKinstry posted 18 points across each leg to claim the low section ahead of Joe Dowey, Stephen Youds, Brian Hanratty and Pat Burke.

Martin McKinstry claimed the middle section off 14 thanks to 37 points. His form across the back six secured success at the expense of Stephen Walter, with Eric Allen and David Herron also close to contention.

In the high section, Douglas Houston posted 36 points to defeat Alistair McCaffrey, Thomas Maguire and Walter Simpson across the back nine.

The ladies’ section featured Alison King in first place on nett 74 for the prize donated by Amanda Lyness.

Two reliable runs helped King hold off Ursula Dummigan’s challenge.

Niamh McSherry picked up the gross prize on 74 in difficult weather conditions.

Four players pushed hard for section one’s top spot - with Christine Hagan resisting the challenge from Annabel Wilson, Fiona Cummins and Tara Walsh courtesy of the back nine.

In section two, Eithne McAtavey posted nett 78 to edge out Kathy Matchett across the countback.

Ursula Dummigan won Section Three on nett 74.

In the ‘twos’, Annette Kilbinger, Annabel Wilson, Pamela Morrow and Maeve Cummins proved successful.

Thanks go to Amanda Lyness for donating the prizes, plus the various winners across the competition.