Celtic and INF lead the way

Share this article

CELTIC and INF are the early leaders in the Craigavon District Darts League sponsored by Bailie Amusements after Week 2 with both teams maintaining their 100% record.

Celtic raced into an early 3-0 lead against Premier with wins for Dee Breen, Tommy McErlene and Mick Millar who hit two 21 dart legs which included his second 180 in successive weeks, but it was soon level with Brian McCavigan, Dee Blaney and John Cinnamon winning for the Premier.

However the 5-3 win was wrapped up when Adrian Hutchinson beat Niall Heaney 2-0 and Dessie Dunbar beat Simon Kendricks by the same score.

They were joined at the top of the table by INF who had a comfortable 6-2 win over the Trojans. New boys Trojans put up another brave showing against the experienced INF team before losing 6-2.

Team Captain Andrew Fairbairn was up first but lost 2-0 to Vincey Culbert Snr and when Joe McGahan lost 2-0 to INF new player Stevie McConnon it was always going to be an uphill struggle.

Lee Culbert checked out 102 on double top for a 2-1 win over Paul Lewis to make it 4-0 for INF. Rab Lewis struck back for Trojans with a 2-0 win over Terry Morrow, but when Paddy Magill hit a 20 darter with a 112 checkout for a 2-0 win over Tony Rutherford the match result was over. Andy MConnon made it 6-1 on the night with a 20 darter in a 2-0 win over Sean Farren but Andy Colhoun made it 6-2 with a 2-0 win over Micky Bunting.

Eire Og secured a hard fought 5-3 victory over the Stables but were pushed all the way in a tough match. The home team won the first game when Micky Dunwoodie beat Hugh Campbell 2-0 but it was all square when Shane Tallon beat Mark McLarnon 2-0. The Stables then went 2-1 up after Gareth Bunting beat Paul Callaghan 2-1. Eire Og then raced ahead with victory in the next three games with Noel Dunwoodie beating Neil McConville 2-0. Dermot McStay defeated Peter Morris 2-0 and Hugh Heaney got the better of Dee McConville 2-1.

Michael Thomas Lamb then pushed the match all the way with a 2-0 win over Simon Graham to make it 4-3. Sam Frazer put in a man of the match performance when getting the better of Paul White 2-1 with Sam winning his legs in a very impressive 16 and 18 darts.

Clann Eireann and Railway finished 4-4 with both teams happy with a point but also thinking of what could have been.

Clann Eireann were hoping to build on their impressive showing the previous week but quickly found themselves 2-0 down with Chacka Toman (2-0) and Colin Toman (2-1) getting the better of Joe McCabe and Mick Hendron.

Things started going the home teams way when Cathal Hendron beat Stevie Knox 2-0 and Neil McCluskey levelled the match with a 2-0 win over Tony Turley. The Impressive Kevin O’Loan beat Brian Turley 2-0 with an excellent 116 checkout and an 18 dart leg. And when “Ciarán McMahon beat Conor Quinn 2-1 it looked all over as Clann Eireann raced into a 4-2 lead. Roy White got his second win in a row with a 2-1 victory over Mark Magee and so it was all to play for in the last match. Lee Harbinson earned a point for the Railway with a fine 2-0 win over 2010 Individual semi-finalist Chris Magee to earn both teams their first points of the season.