College pack remain undefeated

THE Lurgan College Medallion team has just completed their first term at the school and they go into the Christmas break undefeated which is a first for any rugby team at the college.

Building on a very successful Lurgan mini rugby start and moving through the Junior High School, the team has a winning mentality but they still had to produce the goods at Ulster Schools level and this they have done.

Starting with BRA in September, the boys have never looked back and further wins over Antrim GS, Wellington College, Banbridge Academy, Down H S, Omagh Academy, Carrick GS, St Andrew’s College, Dublin really showed what they could do.

Based on a strong back row and superb back line, the team move the ball at every opportunity and with the Medallion Shield beginning in the New Year, coaches Brian Faith and Brian Hanna decided to challenge some of the stronger schools in the province so fixtures against Bangor GS and RS Armagh were arranged in the last couple of weeks. Again the boys showed their class winning 29-0 and 12-7 respectively, the second game being a particularly tight and physical match and just what the local boys needed.

According to teacher Brian Hanna, “It has been a real pleasure to work with these boys this term. They have a great attitude in training and on the field of play they really produce the goods with exciting running rugby for us to enjoy watching. I have been really impressed and would not be at all surprised if some of these boys went on to play at a very high level. They are easily the best I have seen in all my time here, and that is a very long time indeed!”

Fourteen wins on the trot then for the college boys and we look forward to seeing what can be produced in the business end of the season.

Squad members pictured with coaches Brian Faith and Brian Hanna are Jamie Hunter, Matthew Walker, James Patterson, Jordan Jones, Harry Simpson, Mark McGrath, Rhys Lilburn, Peter Beck, Philip McRoberts, Mark Montgomery, Adam Sloane, William Walker,

Adam Pickering, William Craig, Dylan Mooney, Tireoghain O’Neill, Andrew Craig, Ryan Osborne, Daniel Elliott, Matthew Turner, Joel Currie and Joel McCreery.