Drumgor are still unbeaten

Share this article

The Craigavon District Darts League reached the half way point on Thursday and it is a familiar name at the top of the table as Drumgor are out in front after winning their fifth match and the only team undefeated so far to put them a point clear of nearest challengers the INF whom they face in their next league match.

James Henry started off the night with a win over Johnny McAtamney before a 180 by Stevie Duff helped him get past Dee Kelly by two legs to one . Joe McGahan continued his recent good form as he won both legs against Niall Heaney to pull one back for Clann Eireann.

Shane Lennon restored the two game advantage as he won his 7th consecutive match 2-0 before Michael Scullion got the better of cousin Eamon Duff in both legs played despite Eamon’s 180. Clive Hanna repeated Shane’s success as he too won both legs to make it 7 consecutive 2-0 wins in the league as he beat Joe McCabe. Further two nil wins for Pearse Richardson and Dee McConville over Michael Kitching and Gary Hendron respectively made it six wins for Drumgor to finish off another successful night for the leaders .

Nearest title challengers to Drumgor the INF had a 7-1 win over bottom placed team the Trojans but the score could have been a little different if the Trojans had hit their doubles early on.

The Trojans went ahead as Paul Lewis had a 140 to help him come from one nil down to defeat Roy White who had a good 93 checkout in his winning leg. A 174 and 22 darts in the first leg by Andrew Colhoun put him one up against Seamy Tallon and the second leg could have went either way with both players missing doubles but when Seamy finally won it, the third leg was never in doubt as 2 x140’s by Seamy early on levelled the match at one each.

Despite hitting a 138 Davy Vaughan Sr lost out to two double ones by Terry Morrow who put the INF in front. Dave McCusker recorded his sixth consecutive win beating Andy Fairbairn (121) by two legs to nil to make it 3-1. Paddy Magill took the first leg against Liz McLaughlin with a 120 checkout only for Liz to level it scoring a 120 in the second leg . It was Paddy who won the third leg to make it 4-1 to the INF. A brilliant bull finish by Vincey Culbert Sr saw him beat Stuart Matchett 2-0 to guarantee the win.

The match of the night was Lee Culbert’s 2-0 win against Davy Vaughan Jr, winning the two legs in 21 and 22 darts with both players hitting the maximum 180’s in the second leg and it was Marty Crossan who took the INF home for their seventh match win as he beat John McDowell in both legs to leave INF only one point behind in their pursuit of title honours .

Eire Og hosted the Vintage with both teams knowing defeat would cause serious damage to their title ambitions and it was the home team who suffered as the Vintage came from 2-1 down to take the next four matches to record a 5-3 win overall.

Hugh Heaney put the Og’s one up beating Oliver Toland 2-0. John Cinnamond made it 29 wins in a row as he beat Paul Callaghan 2-0 to level the match. A 2-0 win for Micky Dunwoodie over Paul Beattie restored the Og’s lead but from this match on it was all the Vintage as they won eight out of the next nine legs played. 2-0 wins for Brian McCavigan, Keith Beale and Jamesy Bolton (180) over Mark McLernon, Noel Dunwoodie and Paul McGahan put the Vintage 4-2 up and a last leg win for Dee Blaney over Micky Campbell secured the victory for the reigning champions.

Chris Cinnamond pulled one back for the home team but it was to no avail as the Vintage moved two points ahead of their opponents and into third in the league.

The Celtic Club moved into the top half of the table with a 5-3 win over the Stables who suffered their fifth defeat of the season .

Former Stables player Chris Lewsley put the Celtic one up with a 2-0 win over Pat Curran. Andy McConnan made it four wins in a row beating Gareth Bunting 2-0 and when Felix Cush got the better of Rab Lewis in the last leg the Celtic were in control leading 3-0.

Micky Lamb kept the Stables in it when he beat Martin Haddock 2-1 but it was Gerard Crewe who got the better of his rival captain Shane Tallon in a high standard game as he had 7 ton plus scores and an 84 checkout to win 2 -1. Sean Farren secured the win as he got the better of Cherie Toland 2-0 but despite winning the last two games through Peter Morris who gave Adrian Hutchinson his first defeat of the season and Hugh Campbell over Micky Cahoon it was the Celtic who inflicted yet another 5-3 defeat on the Stables.

Drumgor 6-2 Clann Eireann

James Henry 2-0 Jonathan McAtamney

Stephen Duff 2-1 Dee Kelly

Niall Heaney 0-2 Joe McGahan

Eamon Duff 0-2 Michael Scullion

Shane Lennon 2-0 David Beale

Pearse Richardson 2-0 Michael Kitching

Clive Hanna 2-0 Joe McCabe

Damian Mc Conville 2-0 Gary Hendron

INF 7-1 Trojans

Roy White 1-2 Paul Lewis

Seamy Tallon 2-1 Andrew Colhoun

Terry Morrow 2-0 Davy Vaughan

Bap Darts Mc Cusker 2-0 Andrew Fairbairn

Paddy Magill 2-1 Liz McLaughlin

Vincey Culbert 2-0 Stuart Matchett

Lee Culbert 2-0 David Vaughan

Martin Crossan 2-0 John Mc Dowell

Eire Og 3-5 Vintage

Hugh Shugg Heaney 2-0 Oliver Toland

Paul Callaghan 0-2 John Cinnamond

Micky Dunwoodie 2-0 Paul Beattie

Lurgan Darts 0-2 Brian McCavigan

Noel Dunwoodie 0-2 Keith Beale

Paul Martin Mcgahan 0-2 Jamesy Bolton

Micky Campbell 1-2 Ryan O Bleine

Chris Cinnamond 2-1 Conor Mallon

Stables 3-5 Celtic

Pat Curran 0-2 Criostoir Lewsley

Gareth Bunting 0-2 Andy Mcconnon

Rab Lewis 1-2 Felix Cush

Michael Stokie Lamb 2-1 Scopey Marty Haddock

Shane Tallon 1-2 Gerard Crewe

Cherie Toland 0-2 Seán Farren

Peter Morris 2-0 Adrian Hutchinson

Hugh Campbell 2-0 Micky Cahoon


Stephen Duff

Eamon Duff

Jamesy Bolton

Lee Culbert

David Vaughan jr