Eithne wins Lady Captain’s prize

editorial image

LADY Captain Dee Farrell held her Captain’s Day last Saturday.

Fortunately this turned out to be one of the best days of a very wet summer. Whilst the weather on the day was excellent, heavy rain in the previous few days meant that the format was to be Stableford, as the course was playing long and difficult.

Over 80 ladies played during the course of the day with Eithne McAtavey emerging as the winner.

Full results were as follows:

Winner: Eithne McAtavey, 39pts

Runner-up: Susan McMorrow, 37pts

Best gross: Niamh McSherry, 36 gross points (also a new course record 71)

Student’s prize: Niamh Ward, 40pts

Section A winner: Dianne Patterson, 37pts

Section A runner-up: Christine Hagan, 36pts

Section B winner: Betty McKavanagh, 34pts

Section B runner-up: Clare McGourty, 31 pts (better back nine from Irene McCusker and Fran McCann)

Section C winner: Dolores O’Neill, 36pts

Section C runner-up: Elaine Bell, 35pts

Front nine: Fran McCann, 19pts

Back nine: Cara Murphy, 20pts

Committee prize: Sheena McStay, 35pts

Past Captain’s Prize: Bronagh McKavanagh, 35pts

Nearest Lady Captain’s Drive: Eileen McCann

Nearest the pin on the 17th: Sheena McStay

Nine hole Competition: Sally Hayes, 13pts

Twos: Fiona Cummins, Lynne Hanna, Niamh Ward

The men’s competition, which was to have been played for on Wednesday, August 15, had to be abandoned due to torrential rain and this will now be played for on Wednesday, August 22. The day ended with the ladies enjoying dinner and their prize giving in the clubhouse