Forresters lift the Fives title after keen contest with Vintage A

The INF team
The INF team

It was the annual 5-a-sides this week in the Craigavon District Darts League with 12 teams taking part at the home of the reigning league champions the Vintage.

After another great night of darts it was the INF team who took the honours coming from 2-0 down in the final to beat the hosts 3-2 with a last leg decider win.

It was the beaten finalists Vintage A who got the night started with victories for Jamesy Bolton, Dee Blaney and Keith Beale for a 3-0 win over the mixed team of the Stables Clann Eireann to set up a tie against the Eire Og B team in the last eight.

The other teams at the top half of the draw seen Trojans A and the Vintage B team progress to set up their clash and what would ultimately see the Vintage teams go head to head in the semi-finals.

The bottom half of the draw seen the Celtic and the INF teams meet in the last 16 and despite going 1-0 down after John Bishorek Jr got the better of Vincey Culbert, wins for Dave McCusker in 16 darts and Terry Morrow and Lee Culbert put the Forresters men through 3-1.

Their opponents in the last eight were Eire Og A who got the better of the Stables by the same 3-1 score with Chris Cinnamond, Nathan McCabe and Micky Dunwoodie all winning with Pat Curran replying for the Stables.

The Trojans B team and Clann Eireann went head to head and wins for Stuart Matchett and Liz McLaughlin gave Trojans an early 2-0 lead. Team captains Andy Fairbain and Johnny McAtamney meet in match 3 with the Clann Eireann man getting his team back in it and with the help of Mark Magee and Michael Scullion it was the Shore Road men who progressed winning the last three matches for great comeback.

A second consecutive 3-0 win for the Vintage A team over Eire Og B seen them set up a clash against their B team who had a 3-1 win over the Trojans A with Brian McCavigan, Oliver Toland and Kevin McNeice all getting the wins.

INF progressed after a 3-1 win over Eire Og A. Terry Morrow took the opening match against Micky Dunwoodie before Noel Dunwoodie levelled matters beating Lee Culbert. But wins for Seamy Tallon and Dave McCusker seen the Forresters men go into the semis were they would meet Drumgor. Wins for Shane Lennon and Clive Hanna gave Drumgor an early lead against Clann Eireann before Dee Kelly pulled one back. A win for Eamon Duff over Mark Magee finished the match.

The two Vintage teams meet with Dee Blaney putting the A team one up. Paul Beattie squared the match when he beat Conor Mallon which seen the Vintage A team drop their first leg of the night. Jamesy Bolton got the better of Oliver Toland in match three and when John Cinnamond hit his double against Dee McCready it was the A team that marched into the final.

They were joined by the INF who secured a 3-0 win over Drumgor with Paddy Magill, Lee Culbert and Dave McCusker getting wins over Shane Lennon, Joe Duff and Pearse Richardson.

Vintage’s John Cinnamond won the first leg when he beat Lee Culbert. A double 5 with his third dart seen Jamesy Bolton double the hosts lead when he beat Paddy Magill.

Steady scoring by Terry Morrow in leg three kept the INF in the tie as he hit double top at his first attempt to beat Dee Blaney and opening scores of 136 and 2x100’s by Seamy Tallon with his first nine darts seen him quickly level the match as he beat Conor Mallon to take it to a last leg decider.

It was Keith Beale for the Vintage and Dave McCusker for the INF who were the last men to play and with both players pretty much level after the first 15 darts each it was Dave who hit two trebles to leave double 12 which he took out at his first attempt to complete the comeback and give the Forresters the title .