Great finish by Jim to win Captain’s Day

Hole 13 may be unlucky for some but not for Jim Bassett last Saturday when he won the Captain's Day prize at Edenmore., INLM3212-219con
Hole 13 may be unlucky for some but not for Jim Bassett last Saturday when he won the Captain's Day prize at Edenmore., INLM3212-219con
Share this article

IT was Captain’s Day last Saturday at Edenmore Golf Club with Gary Watson welcoming golfers to the course.

The ultimate prize on the day was won by 20 handicapper Jim Bassett with a very creditable 39 points.

Jim, a member of the club for many years, did not get off to a good start with a ding on the first followed by a seven on the second. But he started to turn things round with a bogey atthe third and a par at the fourth.

Holes five to thirteen were all just one over par and right on Jim’s handicap and the points started to add up quickly. On the fourteenth he slipped in a birdie and four points. Jim had a brilliant finish with three points on each of the last three holes to help him score 23 points on the back nine and the best back nine score of the day.

Philip Sheldon was the winner of two prizes on the day. One handicapper Philip won the gross with a score of 74. He had a difficult front nine and ended up four over for the front nine. His scoring improved on the back nine where he had eight pars and a birdie at the 13th.

Philip also won the longest drive atthe fourth hole with a drive of 320 yards.

The other individual winners were as follows:

Best front nine, Alan West, 22pts; best back nine, Michael Briggs, 21pts.

Team captains’ prize, David Donnellm, 32pts; past captains’ prize, Mervyn Nicholson, 31pts.

Visitors’ prize, Phil Lewis, 26pts; nearest pin at 14th, Paddy O’Hagan whose nien iron horseshoed out of a hole-in-one and finished 19 inches from the hole.

The non-qualifiers’ prize was taken by the part time staff member Stuart Bickerstaff, playing off a four handicap, who had 36 points which included three birdies.

In section one (0-13) the winner was Michael Downey with 39pts. Michael had a strong front nine of 21 points, including four pars and a birdie on the fourth. Second place went to Paul Murray on 37pts and third was Adam McGreevy with 36pts.

The section two (14-18) winner was James Scott, also on 39pts. He had 20pts on his front nine and 19 on the way home. Second spot went to Graham Cantley, just one behind on 38pts. Thirdrd was taken by Alan Lowry with 36pts.

In section three (19-22) the winner was Sean Magill on 38pts. Second place went to John Hart on 37pts and third was Simon George on 36pts.

Section four (22-28) winner was Craig McVeigh on 39pts. Second place went to Paul McKay with 37pts and third was Phillip Steele on 36pts.

The joint prize giving evening will be held this Friday evening and tickets are available from Bill White or the club reception 02892 619 241.

The big hitting Colin Whan was the outright winner of the Wednesday sweep with a score of 39pts. Runner up was Nathan Lamont on 38pts beating Phillip Mulholland on a better back nine. The gross on the day was won Philip Sheldon with a 75.

The Monday seniors was won by Ronnie Girvan playing off a single figure handicap. Ronnie had a score of 38pts. Runner up was Peter Foers on 36pts.

Heather Patterson held her Captain’s Day on Friday and the overall winner was Gillian Murphy, scoring an excellent 36pts to stay one point clear of the field.

The competition was pretty fierce and second placed Caroline Watson was just one point behind on 35pts. In third position was Vivenne Wigton with 34pts.

The past captains’ prize went to Cherry Logan with 33pts. The best front nine prize went to Diane Hunter, scoring 18pts and winning by virtue of a great last six holes.

Best Back nine went to Sally Cushnahan with 15pts and again winning on a better last six holes.

The 36 handicapper prize went to Vice-Captain Edith Watson and longest drive was taken by Captain’s prize winner Gillian Murphy. Nearest the Pin prize winner was Patricia Gibson on the fourteenth hole.

The putting prize went to Heather Fleming and the nine hole non qualifier prize went to Sui Lau, competing in her first Captain’s day. The visiting ladies’ prize went to June Logan from Lurgan.