Hugh keeps up his fine form

THE Wednesday Sweep at Lurgan last week attracted an interesting 66 entries.

Twenty two handicapper Hugh O’Reilly had the overall winning card in this midweek fixture. Over the winter period Hugh has been putting together some sparkling scores and this was one more on the list. While he had some high octane scores on his card, he still put together some very tidy bouts of scoring. On the front nine a trio of pars at holes three, five and nine proved useful. A run of three pars got his back nine off to a clever start. He concluded his day with a par and a birdie on the closing two holes. His strong back nine proved formidable on the day.

Runner-up in the competition was long time member Harry Hoy. Playing off a 14 handicap Harry also shot a timely 42 points. A few ventures to the links have sharpened his game. This was evident on both halves of the course. A birdie on the eighth and pars at holes two, four and five were his early successes. Birdies on holes ten and eleven provided the spark to the inward nine. Two pars followed in their wake. He rounded off his day with pars on the final two holes of play. Again a strong back nine was helpful.

The final net prize went to Marty Rea with the last total of 42 points. This 12 handicapper was also sharp on both nines. A feature of his steady play was a run of five pars starting at the eighth. He closed his game of golf with pars on the closing three holes of play. This steady play earned him his reward.

Joe Dowey grabbed the gross award in the competition. This five handicapper took the honours with 34 points. On the day he fell foul of bogeys on holes one, two, twelve, thirteen and fifteen. Birdies on holes three, seventeen and eighteen reduced some of the damage. Pars were his lot on the rest of the holes. His two over par tally prevailed on the day.

The other competitive scoring came from the following:

40 pts: Terry Eagers, Derek Johnston, Brian Curran; 39: Iain Mulholland, Jim Stevenson, Wilf Elliott; 38: Norris Thompson, Brendan Courtney, Mark Carpenter, John Healy, Michael McMahon, Ian Harrison, Ian Hamilton; 37: James McCann Jnr, Ian Montgomery, Francis McKenna, Andrew Gates.