John completes season unbeaten

editorial image

It was the final week of the league season in the Craigavon District Darts League sponsored by Bailie Amusements and with the title already secured by Vintage Bar all the focus was on one match and if John Cinnamond’s 21 game win streak could continue.

With the Vintage leading 3-1 it was time for John to step up to the oche and with everyone on his team getting right behind him the pressure was showing.

The first two legs were shared with John taking the first and Micky Dunwoodie claiming the second and in leg number three both players matched each other score for score and it was all about who could hit that all important double. John was first to get to his but a missed double 6 let Micky in with the chance to break the streak and he almost did as he wired double 16 with the tension in building.

John had three darts in his hand but with his second he hit double 3 to claim the win and that much sought after record of finishing the season with a perfect record of 14-0 .

Everyone in the league congratulate John on this wonderful record .

The match itself was played out in great spirit and finished in a 6-2 win for the Vintage to finish off what has been a great first season back in the league.

In the other matches the Stables and Celtic fought out a 4-4 draw with the highlight of the night being a 149 checkout by Michael Lamb of the Stables and Drumgor finished off their season in runners up spot with a 6-2 win over Clann Eireann. The game between the Trojans and the INF was postponed due to a bereavement in the Culbert family and the committee and members of the league send their condolences to the family at this sad time.

John Cinnamond’s perfect season record reads: v Joe Toman ( Stables ) 2-1 v Rab Lewis ( Trojans) 2-1 v George Chambers ( Drumgor ) 2-0 v Gerard Crewe ( Celtic ) 2-1 v Michael Scullion 2-1 ( Clann Eireann) v Terry Morrow (INF) 2-0 v Mark McLernon (Eire Og) 2-0 v Michael Lamb (Stables) 2-0 v Stuart Matchett (Trojans) 2-0 v Shane Lennon (Drumgor) 2-0 vDee Breen (Celtic) 2-1 v Kevin O’Loan (Clann Eireann) 2-0 v Lee Culbert (INF) 2-0 v Micky Dunwoodie (Eire Og) 2-1