Men have the edge over ladies in the Horseshoe event

There was great excitement on Friday evening at Lurgan Golf Club when the annual Horseshoe Challenge match between the men and ladies took place in glorious sunshine.

As usual the craic and banter was excellent and all involved had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Mr Captain had fielded a strong team, equally matched by Lady Captain’s team, but on this occasion the rub of the green went in favour of the men, who came out eventual winners by a 7-4 margin.

The ladies put their big guns out first and made a strong start with Sian Mulholland/Orla O’Dowd and Olwyn Forrester/Elaine Bell both winning their matches.

The men’s team had a quick response when Mr Captain/Sid Fairfield and Martin Drain/John Hartnett sneaked in to even the contest 2-2.

At this point it has to be noted that the men boosted their team by including two professionals in their ranks, however, rumour has it that in both these matches it was their playing partners John Hartnett and Graham McNeill who played all the golf.

At this point the tide appeared to turn in the men’s favour with Maurice Lyness/Richard Budd, Joe Dowey/Terry McCrory and Chris Donald/Chris Humphries taking the next three matches in quick succession.

There was a bit of a fight back when Ray Gregg/Margaret Bryan’s and Susan McMorrow/Pat Hughes won their matches but the destination of the Horseshoe was sealed when Brian Bradford/Henry Jordan and Peter Hanna/Graham McNeill won the last two matches.

Both captains thanked all the players, the caterers, bar staff and greens staff for their contribution to making the night a huge success and to match and handicap for putting in the effort to organise the event.

Results from Gerry O’Neill Trophy on Saturday are as follows:

1. Sean Scullion 42pts; 2. Eamon Lynch 41pts; 3. Tom Connolly 40pts.

Low: Laurence Mitchell 39pts; Middle Neal Carson 40pts; High: Fergie Lennon 40pts.

Sunday 22 July Open results:

1st John Healy 44pts; 2nd Chris Donald 40pts; 3rd Peter Graham 39pts (BB9); 4th Dermot Lavery 39pts; 5th Daire Hogan (BB9).