Peter books his place in Clarke Qualifier final

Peter McAtasney
Peter McAtasney
Share this article

It was a great day at Silverwood Golf Club on Saturday, and the course was in great condition.

The competition was the Darren Clarke Qualifier and the top four places were all decided on count back.

The winner with 40 points was Peter McAtasney.

A six over front nine with 3 pars at the 1st 4th and 7th holes for 19 points was followed up on the back nine with four pars at the 10th 12th 14th and 15th holes, one double bogey, three bogeys and one birdie at the 18th hole for a better back nine and a day out at Dungannon Golf Club at the finals.

In second place and again with 40 points was Leonard McCann.

He went round the front nine in three over par with one birdie at the 8th hole, four pars at the 2nd 3rd, 4th and 5th holes and four bogeys for 19 points and his back nine of 21 points included one birdie at the 14th hole, six pars, one bogey and one double bogey for another steady performance from this most improved player.

Third was Philip McConville who had 20 points on his front nine with seven pars and only two bogeys, his back nine of 20 points was a repeat performance with seven pars and two bogeys for his total of 40 points and a fine gross 76 .

The gross prize was won yet again by Fintan McAreavey with a one under gross 71.

Fintan is continuing his great form and went around the front nine in one under with two birdies at the 1st and 9th holes.

His back nine contained two birdies, two bogeys, and five pars, for yet another sub par round of golf and is the player to catch in the player of the year competition.

In fourth place was Paul Gilmore with a one over par 73 for 40 points. Paul had 21 points on his front nine with three birdies at the 4th and 7th and 9th holes, two bogeys, and four pars. His back nine of 19 points was achieved with one birdie at the 14th hole, one double bogey, one single bogey, and six pars for a great round of golf.

Fifth place went to Paul Breen with 39 points, he had 19 points on the front nine, and 20 points on his back nine.

The senior prize was won by Dessie Anderson with 40 points.

The junior prize was won by Paul Gorman with the best score of the day 41 points from this ever improving player.

Section winners: 0-12 Shane O’Neill 39pts 13-18 Justin Dummigan 39pts; 19-28 James Nicholl 39pts.

The seniors played their latest league game at Edenmore and finished a very creditable fourth from the ten competing clubs .

This moves them up towards the centre of the league and with their home games yet to take place, there is a realistic chance of finishing in the top three. Best for the local club on the day where the pairing of Seamus Patton and Neil Walker with 40pts, while Dermot McCabe and David Mills had an excellent 37 after a very shaky start.

This Saturday is President’s Day with a barbecue to follow in the competition.