Silverwood toast success

Frank Gallagher (front row, centre, club captain) with Silverwood past captains at the anniversary function.INLM40-180
Frank Gallagher (front row, centre, club captain) with Silverwood past captains at the anniversary function.INLM40-180

Shaun Stevenson secured anniversary success at Silverwood as a strong entry list lined out to celebrate three decades of progress.

The competition schedule featured Stevenson top of the field on 43 points, courtesy of 19 and 24 across each leg.

Pars on holes two, three, seven, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 17 proved crucial alongside his birdie at the 14th.

Conor Jordan came home as runner-up on 41 points off his gross 73, with 20 points the front-nine reward.

His birdie at the eighth was matched by a similar achievement on the final hole - with a string of pars across the first, third, fifth, sixth, seventh and ninth across one leg before posting seven during the return journey.

Liam Mackle came home third on 40 points, with a birdie at the ninth just one highlight. He also put up five pars in each leg, plus a birdie at the 12th.

The in-form Fintan McAreavey collected the gross prize courtesy of a level-par front nine and two-under back leg during a round that featured four birdies.

Darren McCabe finished fourth following a 19-point front nine that featured eight pars. The back leg closed out with a birdie to cap another steady round.

Michael Haughian sparked his 39-point round with an opening birdie then series of pars before maintaining that consistency across the back leg towards 19.

Kevin Munster posted the second gross win of the competition as 11 pars and two birdies helped him finish on 75.

Other winners were as follows: Junior - Ethan Headley 35 points; Senior - Kevin O’Loan 38 points; Best Past Captain - Kieran Devlin 38 points; Best Front Nine - Brian McShane 23 points; Best Back Nine - Arron Beeton 23 points; Closest-To-The-Pin (second hole) - Nathan Thomson; Closest-To-The-Pin (14th hole) - Brian Brady; Longest Drive - Dominic Marsden.

“On behalf of the club captain and committee, thanks go to everyone who helped to make this a great occasion,” said a club spokesperson. “Also thanks to everyone for such wonderful help over the past 30 years of the club’s existence.

“Special thanks go to the green staff, plus Caroline Bustard and those connected to the Craigavon Golf and Ski Centre.

“Thanks go to The Ashburn Hotel and the various prize sponsors during the enjoyable post-tournament ceremony.

“Finally, it was great to see so many past captains in attendance.”

Contact 3832 5380 or visit