St. Michael’s going for gory

THE Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup final on Monday between St. Michael’s, Lurgan and St Louis, Kilkeel is set to a great game of attacking football after both teams scored well in their respective semi-finals.

Therefore with two very dangerous forward lines it is perhaps more likely that the defences will have a big say on the outcome of this game which is being played at the Athletic Grounds, Armagh with an 11.15am throw-in.

If the St Michael’s defence, led by all-star defender Shea Heffron, can cope with the big threat that the Down school pose then maybe the Lurgan lads can come out on top. Other stars in defence have been Jason Rogers, Drew McKenna and Adam Kelly.

Aaron Casey and Eoin McCabrey have been ever presents in the half back line and been on the scoresheet in a few games. In midfield Jonathan Torode has been magnificent with his workrate in games an example to his teammates. He is joined here by another colleges all-star Oisin Lenehan whose high fielding is a breath of fresh air in an era of break ball and 3rd even 4th midfielders Declan Heaney’s introductions to this area or even the half forward line have been a big reason for getting to the final this year – he has scored in each game where he has been introduced and injected both freshness and talent in equal measure.

St Michael’s forwards started the year slowly but have now found a system that works for them and given the right ball can do a bit of damage. They do however, face a tenacious and hard working Kilkeel side who have cancelled out talented forward lines from St Mary’s Belfast and St Patrick’s Downpatrick – it is sure to be a titanic battle. Diarmuid O’Hagan has led the line superbly with Alex Mackey and John Magee getting important scores when needed. James McDade,

Paudie Judge and Ruairi Loughran have been the full forward line for the last two games and look likely to fill those spots again. With the ability to win their own ball and finish with confidence they are sure to be targeted with extra defenders and as such will have a tough job on their hands. It certainly has not been a 15 man effort and the full panel below have all played a part in getting the team to this point and without a doubt will have a major bearing on the outcome of the final. St Michael’s would like to take this opportunity to thank all local clubs for their co-operation in helping get to this stage of the competition and also pay particular attention to their main sponsor Anthony Hendron from Hendron School of Motoring.

The school are hoping for a large vocal support on the big day so they are calling on ex-pupils and parents to come out in force and cheer the pupils on.

St Michael’s: Jack Wilson (Clann Eireann), Jason Rogers (Clan na Gael), Shea Heffron (Clann Eireann), Adam Kelly (Clann Eireann), Aaron Casey (Clann Eireann), Drew McKenna (St Peters), Eoin McCabrey (Clan na Gael), Oisin Lenehan (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Jonathan Torode (Clann Eireann), John Magee (Clann Eireann), Diarmuid O’Hagan (Clan na Gael), Alex Mackey (St Peter’s), Padraig Judge (Tir na nOg), Ruairi Loughran (St Mary’s Aghagallon), James McDade (Clann Eireann), Declan Heaney (Clann Eireann), Michael Toland (Clan na Gael), Niall O’Neill (Clann Eireann), Alex McCab e(St Peter’s), Daniel Thompson (Clann Eireann), Ciaran McCarron(Clann Eireann), Oran Magennis(St Mary’s Aghagallon), David Bradshaw(Clan na Gael), Conor McConville(St Peters), Luke McKerr (St Pauls), Ruairi McCann (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Reece Magee (Clan na Gael), Jamie McAtavey(Clann Eireann), Gareth McGeown(Sarsfields), Peter Mulholland(Wolfe Tones), Paddy Sheehan (Clann Eireann), Matthew Mulholland(Clann Eireann).