St. Paul’s produce fine effort to reach final again

St Paul’s JH School (2-8) Colaiste na Carraige (0-10)

The U-14 footballers of St Paul’s Junior High School, holders of the Ulster Bank McDevitt Cup, made history at Irvinestown when they overcame Donegal Champions, Colaiste na Carraige, to qualify for the Ulster final for the second year in a row.

They collected the cup on three previous occasions, 1999, 2001 and last year, but they have never managed to hold on to their title before.

However, that looked far from being possible as they fell behind to three quick points, before Shea Geraghty got their first score.

The half back line of Eugene Doran, Jamie Haughey and Jack Haddock were put under pressure and although O’Donnell and Aaron Doherty added to the Donegal total, St Paul’s began to make their mark at midfield. Jack Lenehan released Ruairi McConville for a fine point, before the Armagh champions struck for a vital goal.Jack Haddock made a driving run from defence, his pass found Eoin McConville and when Garvey in the Donegal goals failed to hold his shot, Shea Geraghty was on hand to drive home from close range. A point a minute later from Jamie Lamont put his side ahead for the first time and the Armagh champions went in at half time leading 1-3 to 0-5.

Hoping now to play with wind, their joy was short lived as it completely died away and it was no surprise Molloy brought the sides level. Sustained pressure from the Lurgan side and Haddock was proving a handful for Carrick and points from Geraghty and McConville were added to by a fine Mark McAfeee goal when he picked up a loose ball and slammed it to the net.

That they didn’t score again for 18 minutes showed the pressure they came under as Molloy hit four points, all from frees, to leave only a point between the sides with four minutes to go. The introduction of Lee Haughian proved to be a masterstroke as he set up Geraghty for two points in a row and with a three point cushion, Jack Haddock put the cap on an excellent performance when he hoisted over a massive score from 40 metres to put an end to the challenge of the Donegal champions and send St Paul’s into the final, where they will meet Breiffne College, Cavan.

St Paul’s Team: Oisin Campbell (Clan-na-Gael), Rory Shine (Clann Eireann), Aidan Mulholland (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Jack Conlon (Clann Eireann), Eugene Doran (St Peter’s), Jamie Haughey (Wolfe Tones), Jack Haddock (Clann Eireann), Jack Lenehan (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Mark McAfee (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Jamie Lamont (St Mary’s Aghagallon), Calum Magee (Clann Eireann), Tiarnan Kelly (Clann Eireann),Shea Geraghty (St Peter’s), Ruairi McConville (Clann Eireann),Eoin McConville (St Paul’s)

Subs: Lee Haughian (St Paul’s) for Magee, N iall Loney (Clan-na-Gael), Sam McClarnon (Clan-na-Gael), Patrick McGibbon (St Peter’s), Conor McKeegan (Clann Eireann), Oisin Farquahar (St Paul’s), Cian France (Clan-na-Gael), John McMorrow (Clann Eireann), Rioghan Meehan (Clann Eireann), Aodhan Scullion(Clann Eireann), Emmet Tighe (Wolfe Toes)