Stables A take honours again in four-a-side competition

The winning Stables A team, from left, Michael Lamb, Shane Tallon , Paul White and Gareth Bunting. INLM4112-200
The winning Stables A team, from left, Michael Lamb, Shane Tallon , Paul White and Gareth Bunting. INLM4112-200

FOR the second time this season it was the host club Stables A who claimed the honours.

Their team of Shane Tallon , Paul White , Michael Lamb and Gareth Bunting won the Bunting Shield four-a-sides in the Craigavon District Darts League.

Seventeen teams had entered and it was soon down to 16 when the INF A team beat the Premier C team 4-0 in the preliminary round .

In the first round proper the results were: INF A 1-4 Celtic A, Trojans B 1-4 Celtic B, Drumgor A 4-3 Premier A, Eire Og A 4-0 Railway A, Stables B beat Premier B, Stables A 4-1 Clann Eireann, Drumgor B 4-1 Eire Og B, Trojans A 2-4 INF B .

These results set up some entertaining fixtures in the last eight with both the A and B teams of the Stables and Celtic teams clashing.

First it was the Celtic teams and it was a comfortable 4-0 win for the A team of Davy McCusker, Dee Breen, Tommy McErlene and Anto Crewe who got the better of his father Gerard to ease Celtic A into the semis.

It was the same 4-0 result when Stables A met Stables B with Gareth Bunting hitting a 16 darter in his win over Peter Morris.

Last year’s winners Eire Og A qualified for the semi-finals with a 4-2 win over Drumgor A and Drumgor B went one step better than their A team when they become the fourth team into the semis with a 4-2 win over INF B .

Both semi-finals went all the way to the wire with Eire Og taking an early 3-1 lead over the Celtic after the singles.

It was Dave McCusker who kept the Celtic in it with a superb 15 darter while also hitting his third 180 of the night. Celtic levelled the match winning both doubles games but it was Eire Og who stormed into the final after comfortably winning the final round robin game with some big scores from Noel Dunwoodie and Chris Cinnamond.

In the second semi-final nothing could separate the Stables A and Drumgor B after the singles finished 2-2. They again shared the doubles so again it was down to the four players on each team taking turns in the round robin match and it was Gareth Bunting who hit double one with his last dart to send them into the final with Drumgor unfortunately missing out .

In the final it was to be the host team against the reigning champions and it was the hosts who struck first when Michael Lamb beat Chris Cinnamond.

It was soon 2-0 when missed doubles by Mark McLernon let in Gareth Bunting. Eire Og pulled a game back when Micky Campbell became the first person on the night to beat Shane Tallon but Stables kept their two leg advantage when Paul White beat Noel Dunwoodie.

Leading 3-1 Stables only needed the first match of the pairs game to claim the title. With the pressure building Gareth for the Stables and the Eire Og pair of Mark and Chris had all chances to win the game but missed doubles.

This allowed Michael Lamb to step up and calmly hit double 16 to claim the victory and the Bunting Shield for the Stables A team.