Tidy round is winner for Clare

LAST Tuesday the lady members were playing for the Centenary Rosebowl at Lurgan.

Clare McGourty won the day with a fantastic score of net 65. Clare has had a few good scores going over the last few weeks, but hasn’t just kept them together and everyone will be delighted to see her come in with this great score. Clare had a very tidy card with a nice run of four pars in five holes, early on in the back nine, which set her score up nicely.

The gross prize went to Niamh Ward with a course record equalling gross 71. The highlights of Niamh’s round were two almost holes in ones, (we’re told it was only a matter of inches), which Niamh duly went on to convert into twos. Indeed Niamh played holes eleven to fifteen in four under par. For a time Niamh McSherry’s course record definitely looked under threat.

Section 1 went to Sian Mulholland with a net 68. Sian had three birdies and put in a strong finish by getting pars on four of the last five holes to seal her score. Sian had just been pipped at the post in her last few rounds so her finish would indicate she was determined it wasn’t going to happen again.

The McKavanagh’s are never too far away from the prizes and this week it was the turn of Orla McKavanagh who won section 2 with a net 65. Orla was just beaten out of first prize on the better back nine and an examination of her card shows that she had a lovely front nine of only six over par.

Unfortunately the excitement must have got the better of her and she let a few shots slip on the way home. Hopefully this score will spur Orla on to greater things so mum Bronagh better look out as Orla will be catching up soon. Fresh from her weekend win in the mixed foursomes Annette Kilbinger won section 3 with a net 71.

Annette is playing very consistently and it must surely only be a matter of time before her handicap starts to tumble. Annette just held off Hilary Heslip and Dorothy Woods by a shot and these ladies too could be in the prizes soon. The Centenary Rosebowl was donated to the ladies branch by Margaret Cowdy in the club’s centenary year.

Margaret requested the top sixteen who play in the competition then go into a matchplay competition with the eventual winner getting the Rosebowl. The sixteen ladies who went into the draw for this year’s matchplay are: Clare McGourty 65, Orla McKavanagh 65, Niamh Ward 67, Sian Mulholland 68, Heather Shaw 70, Anette Kilbinger 71, Niamh McSherry 71, Diana McClelland 72, Hilary Heslip 72, Dorothy Woods 72, Angela Lamb 73, Susan McMorrow 73, Priscilla Clayton 73, Fiona Rowan 73, Amanda Lyness 73, Gillian Stevenson 73.