Top players out in force for charity game

MANY of the best club and county players from the North Armagh area will line out on Sunday at the St. Peter’s ground in Lurgan for the annual Town v Country Charity game.

The game, which is sponsored by the Lurgan Mail and Portadown Times, will have a throw in time of 2.15pm and all the money raised on the day will go to the St. Vincent de Paul Society.

Once again the response from the players and the managers from both teams has been staggering, a host of top county stars have agreed to take part alongside a wealth of talented club players, many of whom have already played for Armagh minor and under 21 teams along with others who could soon make a senior Armagh breakthrough and are currently in the Orchard Academy. Several local personalities have been involved in the management of the teams over the years and this season the Town team will be managed by Shane McConville from St. Paul’s, St. Peter’s boss Steven McVeigh, John Campbell from Clan na Gael and Gary Mallon from Tir na Nog.

On the sideline for the Country team will be Annaghmore native and Sarsfields coach Kieran Robinson, Eamon Robinson from Maghery and a third manager yet to be confirmed. St. Peter’s referee Mickey Leonard will be putting in place a team of officials on the day. As with previous years a players interchange system will be in vogue and periods of 35 minutes each way will allow for more playing time particularly with the big squads expected. (players are asked to bring their own club socks and shorts) Players should arrive at the St. Peter’s ground at 1.00pm.

North Armagh Town:

Paul Wilson St. Peters, (captain) Brendan McCarron, Clann Eireann, Martin Hoey Eire Og, John Stewart Clan na Gael, Chris McCafferty Clann Eireann, Barry McDonald Tir na Nog, Sam Marshall St. Peter’ s, Phelim O’Neill St. Paul’s, Aaron Findin St Peter’s, Paul McKenna Clan na Gael, Mark Beattie Clann Eireann, Brian Mallon Tir na Nog, Niall McConville St. Peter’s, Stephan Campbell Clan na Gael, Paul Carvill Tir na Nog. Interchange players Michael Shanks, St. Paul’s, Mel Patterson Clan na Gael, Kieran Nash St. Paul’s, Marc Davidson Tir na Nog, Conor McCormack Tir na Nog, Daniel Ryan Eire Og, Darren Moore St. Peter’s, Declan Leathem Clann Eireann, Conor Martin Eire Og,

North Armagh Country:

Mathew McNeice Annaghmore, Chris McCaron Wolfe Tones, Johnny Niblock Sarsfields, David Lavery Maghery, Ryan McQuillan Wolfe Tones, Ryan Cunningham Clonmore, James Lavery Maghery, Finnian Moriarty Wolfe Tones (capt), Michael Stevenson Sarsfields, Aidan Forker Maghery, Conor Mackle Maghery, Stephan Forker Maghery, Oisin MacIomhar Annaghmore. Interchange players Cathal Cunningham Clonmore, James Martin Wolfe Tones, Shea Reavey Annaghmore, Daniel Mullan Clonmore, Aaron McGaughey, Sarsfields, Ciaran Kerr Sarsfields, Ciaran MacIomhar Annaghmore, Darren McAvoy Sarsfields,