Wolfe Tones turn on the style in final showdown

editorial image

Wolfe Tones 3-9

Naomh Éoin 1-14

A large crowd from Derrymacash descended on the Athletic Grounds in Armagh on Saturday for the Under 16 Division 2 final between the Tones and Naomh Eoin.

It was not long before they were on their feet, with the Tones team settling into the game from very early on. Dylan Hoy opened the scoring with a great point before Caolán Farrell sailed through the Naomh Eoin defence to hit the first goal of the game. Conor McPartland and Callan Duffin were prominent in defence at this stage and Matty Hagan was causing havoc as the link man to the full forward line.

The game was only 15 minutes old when Tiarnán Geddis got through on goal and showed that he was the calmest man in Armagh as he buried the ball to the net.

Dylan Hoy was again on the scoresheet before the two sides traded scores with Caolán Farrell, Odhrán Magee and Tiarnán Geddis providing for the Derrymacash men. Naomh Eoin finished with two points of their own to give them a bit of confidence going into half time with the score Tones 2-6 Naomh Eoin 0-6.

The second half got underway with the two teams trading scores with Odhrán Magee hitting two for the Tones. Two points for the amalgamated side brought them back in to the game, but Patrick McPartland, who had a fantastic game, made a great burst up the field to coolly slot the ball into the Naomh Eoin net.

In fairness to Naomh Eoin, they responded well with a goal and two points bringing the margin down to two.

Liam Coleman was in superb form in goals to stop Naomh Eoin edging in front and Eamon Coleman and Decky Boyle both shone during this period, as did Andrew Austin in midfield. Caolán Farrell steadied the Tones ship, but with time slipping away Naomh Eoin added a further two points and it was fitting that our defence, who played exceptionally throughout the game and particularly in the second half when the pressure was on, cleared the ball away from danger for the final whistle finally to sound and send the large Tones support flooding onto celebrate with the boys.

Panel: Liam Coleman, Jamie Haughey, Decky Boyle, Patrick McPartland, Callan Duffin, Eamon Coleman, Andrew Austin, Conor McPartland, Matthew Hagan, Caolán Farrell, Tiarnán Geddis, Odhrán Magee, Dylan Hoy, Matty Hosty, Caolán McWilliams, Emmet Tighe, Lewin McConville, Scott Magennis, Matthew Megoran, Oliver McConville, Conor Conway, Caleb Halfpenny and Odhrán McCaughley. Team managers Kieran McMahon, Gerard Caughey and Nigel Magee.