New record set by Clann rider

CLANN Eireann’s John Heverin has set a new All-Ireland record for a 50 mile time trial.

With a blistering fast time of one houor 45 minutes and 42 seconds he scooped the Ulster 50-mile time trial championship in the process, at the event held at Woodgreen, County Antrim last Sunday morning.

The previous record was set by Coleraine’s John Madden three years ago but Heverin’s time was a comfortable improvement on that by a minute and a half. The new record still has to be ratified by Cycling Ireland.

John’s average speed for the event was close to 29 miles per hour, a speed that most racing cyclists struggle to hold for ten miles, let alone 50 miles.

John also won last week’s Interclub League race at Hamiltonsbawn, setting him up as even more superior to his fellow competitors, winning a majority of the eleven races so far held this year.

In other events a Clann Eireann team competed in the Newry Three Day race in the Mourne area over the weekend with Marty McConville, Conor Grimes ,John Bann-Lavery and Jay Gault all performing solidly during the race.

All of the Clann riders got involved in a number of attacking moves during the race, which was won by Dublin cyclist Art McManus.

Grimes, Gault and McConville all finished the 250 kilometre event just inside the top half of the 90 rider field, while a mechanical problem stopped John Bann Lavery just ten miles from the end of the final stage. The team was placed ninth overall from the 20 teams entered.

Looking ahead this Friday the Clann riders will compete in the Banbridge Criterium race, held at the Outlet retail park over multiple laps of a short, technical circuit. Some of the youth squad will also participate in the event.

Next week the inter-club thre day event takes place, from July 10 until July 12 with riders from Clann Eireann, Island Wheelers, Orchard Wheelers and Apollo taking part.

Last year’s winner was John O’Hagan from Coalisland and the Clann Eireann squad won the prize for the best team.

Given the handicap system in operation, it may well be that the Clann’s top scorer, John Heverin will have his work cut out to bring the winner’s trophy back to Lurgan.

It will be up to other rising stars like Declan Mulholland and Nathan Corry to rise to the occasion and make sure the team award comes back to the club.