Armagh ladies all set for All Ireland final challenge

Armagh face Donegal in final
Armagh face Donegal in final

Eileen Trainor in action for Armagh Ladies during their semi-final win.

The Armagh ladies will be up against 2012 winners Donegal, who defeated Armagh in that final.

Armagh however, will be going into the game full of confidence having already overcome last years winners North West in the recent semi-final and will probably carry the favourites tag on their shoulders.

Confidence remains high within the Orchard County camp. Now the trip to the Omagh area offers another opportunity for revenge, with the prize of Inter-Zone glory the ultimate reward.

“Our previous trophy win came back in the 2010/11 campaign,” said Armagh Zone convenor Jal Richardson. “Hopefully, our record of reaching the latter stages of the Inter-Zone Championships can help in the final.”

The team to represent Armagh is as follows: S Minish (St Marks), Ann Crozier (Armagh GC), R Beattie (Drumgor), L Milligan (Mullavilly), S Whittle (Cranagil) I Doone (Drumgor), R Cassells (St Marks), I Douglas (St Marks).

A Crozier (Markethill Pres), E Trainor (St Anthony’s), A Patton (Redrock), E McDonald (St Anthony’s), D Agnew (St Saviour’s) S White (St John’s Moira), E Smyth (Markethill Pres), C Beattie (Drumgor).

M Wright (St Pat’s Magheralin), G Garvey (Tullysaran, M Cassells (St Mark’s), C Breen (St Anthony’s), F McNally (St Matthew’s), D Marshall (Armagh GC), L Douglas (St Marks), P Beattie (St Mark’s).

Reserves in alphabetical order: H Agnew (St Matthews), L Cassells (Queen St), E Lavery (St Mark’s), Z Minish (Cranagill), J Mulholland (St Matthews). A bus has been arranged for all team members and spectators and will be departing from the Fairgreen car park, Portadown at 12pm.

Seats are limited and if you would like to travel by bus please contact Jal Richardson ASAP to confirm availability and secure your seat. It is also planned to stop for a meal on the way home so can you also let Jal know if your planning to go to the meal as well.

The Armagh Zone Championship Finals took place in Mullabrack Parish Church Hall last Wednesday.

A host of players from the Armagh, Portadown and Lurgan areas took part with the winner and runners up as follows:

Singles-Final: M Sproule (Cranagill Meth) beat P Beattie (St Mark’s Portadown).

Pairs Final: R and D Beattie (Drumgor, Craigavon) beat D McMahon and G McCabe (Drumgor, Craigavon.

Mixed Pairs Final: V and A Leckey (St Mark’s Portadown) beat L Strain and E King (Markethill).

Triples Final: L S Breen, T Crawford and D McDonald (St Anthony’s, Craigavon) beat A Leckey, J Richardson and S McSorley (St Mark’s Portadown).

Rinks Final: Bell, G Culbert, J Richardson and A Leckey (St Mark’s Portadown) beat T Mulholland, A Ward, D Jordan and M Sproule (Cranagill Meth).

The focus moved to the under 18’s within the zone last Saturday, when the Juniors travelled to Shaws Bridge in Belfast to take part in the IIBA Junior Zone All Ireland Championships.

Going into the event the juniors were quietly confident of getting to the latter stages of the competition however a slow start against Monaghan, effectively ended their chances.

They did regroup to play Donegal in their next game, however the slender victory over their opponents was not enough to advance them to the semi final stages of the competition.

The team which represented Armagh was as follows:

Rink 1 Laura Cassells (Queen St, Lurgan), Conchur Lenaghan (St Anthony’s, Craigavon), Ryan King (Mullabrack), Sean Breen (St Anthony’s, Craigavon).

Rink 2 Zoe Minish (Cranagill Meth) Kevin Donaldson ( St Pat’s Armagh) Bethany Whittle (Cranagill Meth) Ryan Adair (Clare Pres).

Rink 3 Cara Lenaghan (St Anthony’s, Craigavon), Terry Millar (Portadown Meth) Nathan Minish (Cranagill Meth) Andrew Robinson (St Mark’s Portadown.