Brian and Fintan lead the way at Silverwood

Latest golf news.
Latest golf news.

It was a double competition at Silverwood on Saturday with the chance for a number of club players to qualify to play at the home of golf St. Andrews at the end of the year, as well as the usual club competition.

The winner of the club competition was Brian Wilson with 40 points. He had 20 points on his front nine with two pars, six bogeys and one double bogey. His back nine contained one birdie, two pars, five bogeys and one double bogey to win on a better back nine score.

In second place with a brilliant round was Fintan McAreavey with a four under par gross 68, which also qualified him to go to the regional finals for a chance to go to St. Andrews. This is the second time this week Fintan has shot a gross 68, winning the mid-week sweep with the same score. Fintan had a front nine of two under with two birdies and seven pars for 20 points and he had a back nine of three under, with three birdies one bogey.

Third was Raymond Loney with 38 points after a mixed bag round which included, quad bogeys, double bogeys, single bogeys, and five pars for his total of 38.

The gross prize was collected by Patrick Jordan with a gross 73. He had a front nine of one under 34, with one birdie and eight straight pars. His back nine included one birdie three bogeys and five pars for Patrick to pick up his second gross prize this year.

Fourth place went to Tony Beeton with 38 points thanks to a front nine of six over with three pars and six bogeys. His back nine had one birdie, five pars and three bogeys for his total of 38 points.

Fifth place went to Frank Kelly with 38 points. He had 19 points on his front nine with one birdie, four pars and four bogeys. His back nine contained one birdie, four pars and four bogeys.

The senior prize was won by John Clarke with 37 points.

The junior prizes were collected by 1st Dara Morgan 40 pts, 2nd was Nathan Thompson 38pts, 3rd was Jack Doyle 38pts.

Section winners: 0-12 Ethan Headley 38 points; 13-18 Enda Brady 38 points; 19-28 Noel Beeton 35 points.

U.K.P.C.C Nett winner Fintan McAreavey; Gross winner Matthew Madden; 0-12 winner Tony Beeton; 13-18 winner Sam Frazer; 19-28 winner Philip Patterson.