Cummins adds to strong track record in Lurgan

Lurgan captain Ian Cousins (right) hands over the Baird Cup to Kevin McKavanagh.
Lurgan captain Ian Cousins (right) hands over the Baird Cup to Kevin McKavanagh.

Timmy Cummins lifted the first major of the Lurgan season - almost 25 years to the day since setting the course record of 63.

The Malcolm Trophy was won with a nett 65 off five thanks to birdies at the first, 10th and 12th towards a level-par round.

It marked the second open trophy of the club calendar, with Cummins previously having won the Irwin Trophy.

Brendan Courtney recently appeared close to victory in difficult conditions before a late triple bogey. The Malcolm Trophy conditions proved similar and Courtney posted a nett 66 off 13 towards runner-up thanks to nine pars.

His handicap has now dropped from 14 to 10 across just two weeks of play.

Dairmuid Mitchell was third on nett 67 off 12 - with the main talking points his double bogey and birdie either side of the turn.

It marked another win for the Mitchell family following a midweek success enjoyed by his father, Laurence.

The list of six players on nett 68 was topped by Martin King off his 21 handicap.

King opened with a birdie before a string of poor results rocked his progress. However, he returned home with a four-under-handicap round.

Colm Nash junior and Jason McCann - the latter last year’s runner-up - finished next in line, with the former posting a key birdie and the latter enjoying an eagle.

Colin Atkinson, Eamon Lynch and Brian Clarke - handicaps, respectively, of 18, 4 and 12 - struggled for the consistency required to make an impact.

Gareth Moore won the gross with a 69, the only sub-par round of the day. His birdies arrived at the third, fourth, 10th and 15th holes.

The second gross prize went to David Sutton on a level-par 70, with a double bogey taking the shine off his card.

In the ladies’ section, Dianne Patterson collected the Greer Cup in difficult weather conditions.

Her nett 70 arrived following a slow start, with a birdie at the 10th one positive towards her trophy delight.

Cara Murphy won the gross on 81, with a two-over-par performance across the front nine then strong finish and number of pars.

A birdie to close her round marked another fine round by a player with form across the junior and senior cup sides.

Nuala Beatty won section one on nett 72 thanks to the countback at the expense of Christine Hagan.

She posted two rough scores but also two birdies, with Hagan’s impressive front nine disrupted by a poor return leg.

In section two, Debbie McCollum was on nett 72 to top the standings - with Liz Denver the main player in section three thanks to a five-shot win to reduce her handicap by 0.5.

Ladies are reminded to support the ‘mix and mingle’ week.

Tomorrow’s (Friday’s) annual challenge match between the men and ladies will settle the outcome of the Horseshoe Trophy.

Cup dates have been booked for May 24 and June 1 so players should book times as soon as possible.