Danske bank ulster schools trophy final

Lurgan College failed in their brave bid to win the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Trophy in the final held at Banbridge Academy last Wednesday.

Things had started so well for Lurgan as they took a 3-0 lead.

Lurgan were defending a lot but were matching everything that was being thrown at them. Scott Wilson took the early penalty kick well but for the next ten minutes or so College allowed their opponents back into the match as they gave away too many penalties particularly at the break down .

Royal School Dungannon went on to hold a 12-3 advantage at half-time.

LurganCollege started the second half in good fashion but Dungannon scored against the run of play. Despite this blow Lurgan came back through an intercept from Jonny hunter to make it 19-10 with Robbie Norton converting, but College indiscipline allowed Dungannon to gain territory through penalties and they scored two tries in the last ten minutes to make final result 29-10.

“It was a big disappointment because we failed to give a good account of ourselves,” said College coach Geoff Caldwell.

“The best team won on the day and fair play to Royal School Dungannon, but our forwards were poor and we struggled at line out at times and they were more aggressive at the break down.

“The biggest positive for us is that eleven of our team will return next year and with others competing for places we can improve upon this result and hopefully we can win through some rounds in the Schools Cup and see physical improvement.

“We are also still in the 2nd xv Cup and attention will now return to the twos as we seek to further progress and end the season for the rugby club in school on a high in general.

“I thought Thomas Neil up front was the pick of the forwards and Jonny Hunter deserved his try.

“Going forward we need to work hard on strength and conditioning as we ran out of gas and conceded two tries in the last ten minutes.

“Improved decision making will come as the team evolves and we develop our game management,” concluded Geoff.

Lurgan College squad: James patterson, Richard Hull, Stephen Logan, Jamie Hunter, Harry Webb, Jonny Hunter, Scott Wilson, Ryan Emerson, Lewis Lawson, Harry Simpson, Ben McAlister, Thomas Neill, Victor MacKensie, Ryan Osborne, Matthew Laird, captain, Michael Boulos, Nathan Moffett, Rhys Lilburn, Mark Montgomery, Harry Woods, Sam Harrison, Robbie Norton, Peter Beck.