High scoring in final league games


Players were called to the oche for the final time as the last matches took place and there was no let up from the players.

The Stables finished their campaign off with an emphatic 8-0 whitewash over the Celtic to move above them and last years league champions the Vintage also finished on a high with a 7-1 win over Eire Og.

The INF travelled to the Trojans and left with a 5-3 win and new champions Drumgor finished their season off with a 6-2 win over Clann Eireann to remain undefeated for the season.

Despite winning the title last week Drumgor went into their final match with two undefeated records on the line with the team and Clive Hanna both being successful in completing their mission.

Pearse Richardson was first up for Drumgor and a 2-1 win over Joe McCabe seen them take the opening match. Joe Duff extended the lead with a 2-0 win over Gary Hendron before Chris Magee got Clann Eireann off the mark when he won both legs against Eamon Duff.

Shane Lennon put two between the sides again with a 2-1 win over Michael Scullion but Clann Eireann refused to go down without a fight when Dee Kelly got the better of James Henry by 2-0. Niall Heaney beat Johnny McAtamney 2-0 to put Drumgor 4-2 up to complete the first part of the mission which was to remain unbeaten.

The win was confirmed for Drumgor as Clive Hann was to become the only player in the league to finish with the perfect 14 from 14 record as he beat Mark Magee in both legs to make it 5-2.

In fact Clive only dropped two legs during his whole league campaign which is a great achievement.

The final match seen Stevie Duff make it 13 wins from 14 as he beat Michael Kitching by two legs to nil to finish off another very successful year for Drumgor.

Vintage finished their season off with a 7-1 win over Eire Og to finish joint second with the INF on 20 points.

Despite losing the first match as Dee McCready lost out to Micky Dunwoodie who got his 10th win from his last 11 games the rest of the evening it was all the Vintage’s way as Brian McCavigan had a 140 and a ton as he levelled the score with a 2-0 win over Tina Power.

Four tons and a 19 dart leg was good enough for John Cinnamond to bounce back as he beat Paul McGahan (134) by two legs to one.

Jamesy Bolton beat Paul Callaghan 2-0 to extend the Vintage’s lead. A lovely checkout on the bull by Dee Blaney was the only difference between him and Chris Cinnamond in an excellent game as Dee had four ton scores and an 18 dart leg to help him win 2-1 over Chris who had a 140 and four tons himself alongside his 19 dart leg.

The high standard didn’t let up in the next match either as Keith Beale confirmed the win for the Vintage as he beat Mark McLernon 2-1 with both players hitting five ton plus scores and an 18 dart leg by Keith to make it 5-1.

Oliver Toland made it 6-1 with a 2-0 win over Davy Dunwoodie and despite hitting three tons in the final match Hugh Heaney couldn’t stop the rot as Conor Mallon hit the all important final double to complete the action with a 2-1 win over Hugh and leave the final score the Vintage 7 Eire Og 1.

The Stables travelled to the Celtic only a point behind their hosts in the league table but left a point ahead after an emphatic whitewash winning all six games played on the night.

With the Celtic only having six men walkover wins for Shane Tallon and Hugh Campbell put the visitors two nil up. John Bishorek completed his first full season in the league with his 11th consecutive win as he had a 140 on way to beating Adrian Hutchinson by two legs to nil. Peter Morris, Pat Curran, Gareth Bunting, Rab Lewis and Michael Lamb completed the rout.

The final match seen the INF finish joint second with Vintage as they defeated Troans 5-3.

INF captain Seamy Tallon opened with a 2-0 win over Davy Vaughan Sr. Trojans captain Andy Fairbairn got the better of Roy White 2-1. Vincey Culbert Sr restored the Forresters lead with a 2-1 win over Liz McLaughlin. Marty Murray got the better of Davy Vaughan Jr in the deciding third leg for 3-1 but the Trojans pulled one back when Andrew Colhoun got the better of Lee Culbert .

Dave McCusker won two nil against Roger Hare and when Paddy Magill got his 10th win of the season with a 2-0 win over Paul Lewis the points were guaranteed for the INF. With the win over John McKenna forfeited his match against Michael Shields to leave the final score Trojans 3 INF 5.