In form Shane and Michael cruise to Pairs title

Darts update
Darts update

The League Pairs title was up for grabs this week in the Craigavon District Darts league.

A total of 46 players meet in the INF club all closely watching the draw to see who their partner would be hoping to repeat the exploits of Gerard Crewe and Hugh Heaney from last season.

After all 23 teams were drawn out there were seven preliminary rounds and with the format being best of three 701 in the early rounds there were some strong teams eliminated early on with the likes of Noel and Micky Dunwoodie falling victims to Seamy Tallon and Micky McConville who had a 14 dart leg and Niall Heaney and Pearse Richardson narrowly losing out in a last leg decider.

It was soon down to the last eight pairings with Gerard Crewe partnered by Conor Quinn still in the mix again having won back to back titles in 2014 and 2015 and they progressed to the semi-final with a 2-0 win over Micky Campbell and Conor Mallon.

Their opponents in the semi-final were Shane Lennon and Michael Lamb who got to the semis without dropping a leg with wins over Stephen Duff/Emmett Turley and Liz McLoughlin/Paul Callaghan.

In the bottom half of the draw Chris Cinnamond and Roy White came through a prelim match and two tight last leg deciders with wins over Marty Murray/Eamon Duff and Seamy Tallon/Miky McConville to book their spot in the last four and they were to come up against Joe Duff and Stuart Matchett who had wins over last years winner Hugh Heaney and Partner John McDowell before beating Shane Tallon/Neil McCluskey in the quarter-finals.

In the last four there were eight players from seven different teams in the league proving another tight and competitive competition.

Both semi-finals proved to be a tight affair as they both went to the last leg decider in the best of five format with Michael Lamb and Shane Lennon winning the first just as Chris Cinnamond and Roy White took the deciding leg against Joe and Stuart to set up a final which had four teams represented, Drumgor and the Stables versus Eire Og and the Forresters.

With both teams playing well all night a tight final was expected by all but that’s not always the case and it was one of those times as it was Shane and Michael who ran away with it taking the first four legs played to complete a comfortable 4-0 win and lift the trophy losing just two legs all evening .

Results were as follows:

Last 16 - Jonathan McAtamney/Nathan Lamb 1 Liz McLoughlin/Paul Callaghan 2; Michael Stokie Lamb/Shane Lennon 2 Stephen Duff/Emmett Turley 0; Conor Rabbo Quinn/Gerard Crewe 2 Pearse Richardson/Niall Heaney 1; Dermie McStay /Mark McLernon 1 Micky Campbell/Conor Mallon 2; Martin Murray/Eamon Duff 1 Chris Cinnamond/ Roy White 2; Micky McConville/Seamy Tallon 2 Damian Mc Conville/Caolan Lavery 1; Shane Tallon/Neil McCluskey 2 Andrew Fairbairn/John Hatchell 1; Hugh Heaney/John Mc Dowell 1 Joe Duff/Stuart Matchett 2.

Quarter-finals - Liz McLoughlin/Paul Callaghan 0 Michael Stokie Lamb/Shane Lennon 2; Conor Rabbo Quinn/Gerard Crewe 2 Micky Campbell/Conor Mallon 0; Chris Cinnamond/Roy White 2 Micky McConville/Seamy Tallon 1; Shane Tallon /Neil Mc Cluskey 0 Joe Duff / Stuart Matchett 2.

Semi-finals - Michael Stokie Lamb/Shane Lennon 3 Conor Rabbo Quinn / Gerard Crewe 2; Chris Cinnamond/Roy White 3 Joe Duff/Stuart Matchett 2.

Final - Michael Stokie Lamb/ Shane Lennon 4 Chris Cinnamond/Roy White 0.