INF A clinch the league title

editorial image

The INF secured their fifth piece of major silverware this season as they claimed league honours with a 5-3 win over nearest rivals Eire Og.

From the first cup of the season you got the feeling it could be INF’s year when Paul Magill hit the bull to claim the INF cup and from that moment on they have become the team to beat, especially in the league as they secured their 12th win from 13 games to secure the league title for the first time since 2010.

Against second placed Eire Og nothing less than a home win for Eire Og would keep the league title open and they got the start they had hoped for as John Cinnamond got the better of Dan Cahoon in a battle of two undefeated players.

In the second match Hugh Heaney and Paul White shared the first two legs before Paul’s high scoring in leg three pulled him away as he took his 10th win of the season in 20 darts to level the match.

Mick Millar put the Forresters men in front as he took both legs played against Chris Cinnamond to put them a step closer to the title and when Terry Morrow got his seventh league win to make it 3-1.

One of the most improved players of the season Roy White had the honour of officially crowning the INF league champions as he got that all important point they needed as he came from a leg down to beat Paul McGahan and make it 4-1.

The sixth match seen another hugely improved player Niall Heaney get his fifth win from eight league games as he won both legs against Lee Culbert. It was a battle of the captains as Seamy Tallon recorded the win over Micky Dunwoodie as he won both legs to give the INF both points on the night and in the final match Mark McLernon and Vincey Culbert Sr both threw well before Mark took the deciding leg to get his ninth win of the season.

The Trojans finally got the breakthrough that was always coming as they recorded their first win of the season with an excellent 6-2 win over Clann Eireann.

John McDowell got them up and running with three ton plus scores and a 2-1 win over Dermie McStay to give him his fourth win in five games. Mark Magee kept his good form going as he won both legs against Paul Lewis to level the match.

Despite scoring well in match three Gary Hendron was unable to finish as Davy Vaughan Sr took out his doubles when it mattered to put the Trojans back in front.

That lead was increased as Michael Shields also won both legs as the Trojans took control of the match leading 3-1 at the half way stage. Captain Andrew Fairbairn knew more than anyone how much a win would mean to his team and he lead from the front as he won the Trojan’s fifth and sixth consecutive legs as he beat Micky Campbell in 19 and 21 darts and make it 4-1 on the night.

Davy Vaughan Jr matched his team mates as he made it 5-1 with another 2-0 win for the Trojans as he beat Johnny McAtamney.

It was Dee Kelly’s return to league action that finally stopped the rot for Clann Eireann as he scored three ton plus scores in beating Stuart Matchett in the third and deciding leg to pull one back for the hosts but the Trojans big night was not to end there as Liz McLaughlin warmed up for the upcoming ladies Individuals as she won her eight and ninth legs of the season as she beat Michael Kitching 2-0 to cap off an excellent night for the Trojans .

It was fourth against third as the Stables travelled to Drumgor in good form following last week’s cup success.

Stables took the opening match as Pat Curran won both legs against Joe Duff. It was Stevie Duff though who probably put in the performance of the season as he beat Shane Tallon 2-0 winning the two legs in 16 and 15 darts finishing the second leg off with a 160 checkout which is the highest of the season.

Micky Lamb and Marty Craig both had chances to win the match as they shared the first two legs and it was Micky who was grateful to hit double one to claim the win and put the Stables back in front.

Pearse Richardson and Conor Mallon both scored well before doubles again came back to haunt Pearse as double 17 give Conor the win as he took out 64 to move the Stables 3-1.

Eamon Duff took out an excellent 144 to give him a 2-0 win over Nathan Lamb as the traditional Drumgor fight back started. The high checkouts continued as James Henry got in on the act as he took out 130 in the third and final deciding leg to beat Gareth Bunting 2-1.

Shane Lennon had five ton scores as he got his 10th win of the season as he beat Gary Bell 2-1 In the final match Hugh Campbell despite two scores of 125 was unable to stop Paul Beattie completing the comeback win for Drumgor as he won both legs to put Drumgor level on points with Eire Og.

The final match of the week seen Celtic face neighbours the INF B.

The INF B team got off to a great start as Keith Beale beat Gerard Crewe 2-0 before Dee McCready got his 11th win of the season as he beat Caolan Lavery in the third leg to put the hosts 2-0 up on the night.

But it was all one way traffic from here on in as the Celtic took control winning the final six matches of the night. John Bishorek Jr started it off with a 2-0 win over Paul Magee before Dessie Dunbar made a welcome return to the Celtic fold as he beat Bobby Magee 2-1 to level the match. John Bishorek Sr took out a superb 137 to help him win one of his two legs won in 17 and 18 darts as he got his 10th win of the season and his 28th straight win in the league as he put Celtic in front. Adrian Hutchinson increased the lead as he won both his legs played to make it 4-2 and it was Dee McConville who completed the win as he took the deciding leg against Micky McConville who in losing seen his personal record go to 9 wins from 13 in his first season playing.

Andy McConnon finished the night off with a 2-0 win over Aaron Devine as he won the Celtic’s sixth game of the night to leave the final score. INF B 2 Celtic 6.