Top award for Junior Cup team

The winning team.
The winning team.

The Ladies Junior Cup team crowned a magnificent year by lifting the Team of the Year award at the Craigavon Sports Advisory Council Sports Awards presentation dinner held in the Civic Centre last week

The team was delighted to win against strong opposition from six other nominations in a variety of sports ranging from bowls to football.

As winners of the Ulster Junior Cup and the All-Ireland title last year, they clearly impressed the voting panel and Lady Captain Sheena McStay was delighted to accept the award on behalf of the team. The compère for the evening, sports reporter Denise Watson, interviewed Sheena and the youngest member of the team Maeve Cummins.

Needless to say Sheena was not lost for words and kept Denise well entertained. All in all, a very enjoyable evening and well deserved recognition for the squad of Maeve Cummins, Bronagh McKavanagh, Sian Mullholland, Fiona McGrady, Cara Murphy, Christine Hagan,Lynne Hanna and team manager Ann Knox.

The latest bridge results are as follows: N/S-1, D Stevenson and R Davidson; 2, B McKavanagh and F Storey;

E/W-1, S O’Neill and M Patterson; 2, A White and C Stewart.