Pairs winners

Share this article

IT was a busy week in the Craigavon District Darts League with the pairs ompetition taking centre stage at the INF Club last Thursday night.

With over 30 teams being paired together at random it was the pairing of Seamy Tallon and Davy McCusker who deservedly took the title with some impressive displays.

Straight from the start they put down the marker as the team to beat and comfortably won most rounds before beating Noel Dunwoodie and Tony Rutherford 4-1 in the final.

Results were as follows:

Quarter-finals - Noel Dunwoody/Tony Rutherford 2 Shane Lennon/Lee Culbert 0; Stephen Duff/Eamon Duff 2 Pearse Richardson/Kevin O’Loan 0; Seamy Tallon/Dave McCusker Snr 2 Paul White/Dee Breen 0; Mark McLernon/Peter Morris 2 Shane Tallon/Paul Donnelly 1.

Semi-finals - Noel Dunwoody/Tony Rutherford 3 Stephen Duff/Eamon Duff 2; Seamy Tallon/Dave Mc Cusker Snr 3 Mark McLernon/Peter Morris 0.

Final - Seamy Tallon/Dave Mc Cusker Snr 4 Noel Dunwoody/Tony Rutherford 1.

On Saturday morning the six players who qualified for the Northern Ireland Individuals made the journey to Finaghy. They came up against a top class field of 128 players from across the country and all did themselves and the league proud, Best on the day was Terry Morrow who reached the last 32, hitting a 14 dart leg in his second round win.

Then it was back up the M1 for the first qualifying heat in the Drumgor Tavern in the new weekly competition being held.

Shane Lennon won the first qualifying event and become the first qualifier for finals day.

Shane beat Geoff Wilson 4-1 in the final after taking out a 161 in the first leg which was followed by legs of 15 darts and a 14 dart leg for the match.

Geoff had beat Mark McLernon 4-3 in the semis while Shane had beat Felix Cush 4-1.

There was a great turn out of 31 players which will only get bigger and better each week. Qualifier two will take place next Saturday.