Tannaghmore triumph

Share this article

TANNAGHMORE are indoor champions of Armagh after winning this prestigious title recently in Armore Recreation Centre, Armagh.

Eight regional winners gathered attended on the day the two groups were very hotly contested.

In section A, CBS, St Patrick’s Crossmaglen, Tullysaran and Keady competed with two latter teams going through to the semi-finals. It was a very tight group with Tullysaran being declared the winners on points difference.

In section B, Cloughreagh, Tannaghmore, St Patrick’s, Armagh and Glassdrummond competed.

At the end of the round robin series three teams were tied on equal points. Points difference really mattered and Tannaghmore and St Patrick’s Armagh progressed as winners and runners-up.

The semi finals saw Tullysaran take on St Patrick’s Armagh and Tannaghmore take on Keady.

Tullysaran emerged as winners of the first semi with a score of 1-3 to 1-0.

Tannaghmore won their semi 2-2 to 1-0.

The final was a very tight affair with the girls giving their all. Tannaghmore went into a lead of 0-3 to no score, but Tullysaran came back at them with a goal. This spurred on the girls from Tannaghmore who replied with a goal of their own.

Tullysaran never gave up and got their rewards when they scored another goal. As time was running out and the scores level both teams exchanged points with Tannaghmore edging out Tullysaran by a single point with a score of 1-7 to 2-3.

Tannaghmore now progress to the Ulster finals..

Tannaghmore team: Dearbhla Coleman, Megan Gellately, Lauren Gellately, Grace Lavelle, Katie McConville, Meabh Toman, Abbie Mulhollanad, Beth Doris, Meabh McCambridge.