Three get top awards

THE success of local clubs will be highlighted at the Armagh awards dinner this Friday night in the Armagh City Hotel.

Last season Eire Og, St Peter’s, Wolfe Tones and Clann Eireann were all promoted and three of the top players from three of those sides have been selected for Player of the Year awards from their selected divisions.

Niall Lennon from Wolfe Tones will pick up the division two award while St Peter’s Niall McConville has scooped the division three accolade and Paul Creaney will top what was a fantastic season for Eire Og by taking the division four award.

The Pinebank outfit fittingly have been voted as Armagh Club of the Year for 2011.

Niall Lennon from the Tones is without doubt one of the best defenders in club football at the moment. He has played in various defensive roles for his club, particularly as a man marker, and the Cash man has had a number of run outs with the Armagh senior team.

Niall was an intricate part of last season’s push for promotion by the Tones and his presence was particularly highlighted when his club were without the services of the Armagh tied Finnian Moriarty.

St Peter’s Niall McConville played with Armagh minors and his movement through the ranks at St Peter’s was alongside his fellow county players Sean O’Neill and Aaron Findin.

Young McConville is a balanced and dedicated footballer who had benefited from coaching during his early days from people like Paul Lavery and Brian McCabrey.

Niall first rose to prominence on a very good St Michael’s Grammar School team before going on to have a glittering spell with the Armagh Minors.

Although Paul Creaney missed the opening games of the season through injury his performances up front for Eire Og set him out for for special praise last season in division four.

His award as divisional Player of the Year was a fitting end to the season for the Pinebank side who won a league and championship double in 2011.

Paul Creaney ironically played against Tyrone junior champions Derrytresk who were in the headlines and reached the All-Ireland final.

In winning the Armagh Club of the Year award Eire Og have capped a marvellous period in their history.

They went through a difficult period before the appointment of Mickey Devlin and Oliver Cormican whose professional approach saw a new dawn and promotion as winners of division four.

The division one Player of the Year accolade winner is Culloville stalwart Kieran Hatzer who helped steer his side to an Armagh intermediate title and a final two place in the Ulster Championship.

Malachy Mackin, who has started the 2012 campaign the way he left off last year, will pick up the Armagh County Player of the Year award at Friday night’s county dinner.

The various award winners could underline the fact that despite Crossmaglen Rangers continuing to dominate senior football in the county, on the local front sterling work continues to be done both at underage and senior level.